Modern Sumi-e Painting

A free class my friends and i are taking at Keio. Sumi-e is black ink painting – I’m sure you have seen this style of Japanese art (technically it originated in China) but if you want to learn more about it click the link below. I really like it, its very relaxing. Maybe I will splurge and buy my own materials to take it up as a hobby.

Here is some information about Sumi-e style painting: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ink_and_wash_painting

cimg4864

the materials - the small black stick is the sumi (the black ink), and we sort of grind it with water in the black stone to make the paint

the materials - the small black stick is the sumi (the black ink), and we sort of grind it with water in the black stone to make the paint

sensei looks proud. poor al ploy, freezing thai girl - haha they haven't turned the heat on yet at school.

sensei looks proud. poor al ploy, freezing thai girl - haha they haven't turned the heat on yet on campus.

some of my paintings:

a "gerbera" - a daisy?

a "gerbera" - a daisy?

cimg4870

bamboo!

bamboo!

6 responses to “Modern Sumi-e Painting

  1. Awesome!
    You’re a much better artist than me.

    I took calligraphy,
    it’s kind of hard when you don’t really know Japanese…
    they had me doing calligraphy on my first day at school!
    Before I knew ANYTHING except my name!

Leave a Reply

