Jamaica Pond, Boston

Photo by Ben Smith

Photos from Jamaica Pond in Boston, MA

I hope you didn’t think I was done posting pictures from the trip to Boston ;)

I really struggle to take photos on a regular basis in Seattle because not much feels new to me, but when I’m in a different place I can barely put my camera down. I’m still trying to find the right balance between my love of taking pictures and my desire to just enjoy a place for what it is, without feeling like I need to document everything about it. Know what I mean? How do you balance the two?

*click images for full view//kodak 200//canon eos rebel k2

13 responses to “Jamaica Pond, Boston

  1. This post has made all nostalgic! I use to walk/run a lot around Jamaica Pond back when I was living in the Boston area. Really lovely place and still is as seen in these photos.

    • So lovely! It would be nice to run around here everyday. I’m glad you liked the photos–thanks for stopping to say so :)

  2. Wow, I love that fourth photo with the leaves and water in the background.. the colours are so vivid!

    I totally know what you mean about taking photos where you live.. Delft is pretty small and I’ve been feeling a bit uninspired to take photos here lately. Sometimes it feels like I’m just taking photos for content’s sake.. that’s when I know to put my camera away and just enjoy things as they are.

    I always enjoy your Seattle shots anyway :)

    • I think that’s a good rule. I find myself doing the same and when that happens there isn’t really much joy in it anyway!

  3. hehehe..the last jumping photos reminds me of one we tried to take on our back from Showa kinen park :p I’m also very uninspired to take photos over here but sometimes I’ll try to play tourist. But my camera is being neglected now ;o

  4. They are very nice, love all the leaves & the water.
    I face the same problem a lot, I am very uninspired here in Bombay but when on vacay I am all like “OMG look at that *click* look at this *click*”
    It does become a bother after a while, that’s why initial days have tons of pictures & later days less.
    I also sometimes find myself feeling guilty for not taking enough photos on vacation, I know that sounds silly. I guess you should just let instinct take over? If you feel like it take a photo if not just enjoy the moment?
    As much as I love enjoying the moment I love taking photos, though it may be annoying then I can relive the moment better later. :)

  5. Wonderful shots and that last one is superb! In regards to balancing photo taking… If you feel like shooting photos, go for it. If you don’t, take a small rest and perhaps later pick it up for a walk, etc. I’m always surprised and relieved when I don’t force anything.

  6. I understand you, Allison. In fact, I think I am experiencing a similar thing. I live in a very small town where nothing is new to me and so I always struggle to find new things and places that make me feel the need to grab my camera and take pictures. But when I visit new places, I have to keep in mind that it’s better to enjoy things as they are than take as many pictures as I can to document things.

Leave a Reply

