Feel Good Lost*

Streetwear, Statues, & Santas

<3 layers <3

<3 layers <3 I love how the mannequins are also advertising cellphones. This is at Laforet Department Store in Harajuku.

This entry really has no direction, its just a random smattering of photos from the last few days. I guess taking pictures and updating this thing is a good hobby because it doesn’t really cost any $$$, but I’m trying to figure out how to spend less on getting around. Its not unusual for me to spend over 10$ a day just in train fares. I’ve been making an effort to walk from place to place if I can (like, Ebisu->Shibuya->Harajuku), instead of taking short train rides, so I end up seeing a lot more ‘off the beaten path’ kinds of things (come on, you know you love overused cliches).

Open-air thrift-market in Yoyogi Park on the weekends.

Open-air thrift-market in Yoyogi Park on the weekends. I would say I had about 15 momentary crushes here, hahaha.

Lots of cool clothes for practically nothing - there were girls all over yelling - 全部100円です!(everything 100yen!)

Lots of cool clothes for practically nothing - there were girls all over yelling - 全部100円です!(everything 100yen!)

I’m also going to share with you my most difficult new goal, so you can hold me accountable: I’m not going to buy anything for myself that I can wear for the rest of this semester (haha, I make no guarantees about Seattle!). This makes me sound pretty bad, I really don’t shop that much, but I probably buy at lease one thing every week – and I don’t need anything! I just want want want! Its hard not to get caught up in all that here. So, wish me luck! ahaha.

I'm very interested in trying this beer. ha, hoppy hoppy!

I sure hope I get the opportunity to try this beer someday. hoppy hoppy!

I guess whoever made this

I guess whoever made this wanted to show off their bilingual language skills. Digital is (obviously) in English, and the Japanese word for "convenience store," Conbini, is written in romanized Japanese except for the hiragana character び、which sounds like "bi." hahaha how cute. ---Ok, well, I thought it was funny!

Ahahahaha - it was a normal clothing store in Shibuya.

Ahahahaha - it was a normal clothing store in Shibuya.

I guess David hangs out in Tokyo too. ::blushes:: That sounds a lot dirtier than I intended...hahaha oops.

I have no idea. There were about 40 of them.

I have no idea. There were about 40 of them.

The Tokyo Rockabilly Club. They dance in Yoyogi park on Sundays. I thought this was kind of funny but my Japanese friend thinks they're really cool.

The Tokyo Rockabilly Club. They dance in Yoyogi park on Sundays. I thought this was kind of funny but my Japanese friend thinks they're really cool.

People that want to show off their eccentric style go to Yoyogi Park on Sundays and pose like this. I believe its where most of the FRESH FRUITS pictures are taken. It rained on this day though, so I only saw a few people.

People that want to show off their eccentric style go to Yoyogi Park on Sundays and pose like this. I believe its where most of the FRESH FRUITS pictures are taken. It rained on this day though, so I only saw a few people.

*Broken Social Scene

4 responses to “Feel Good Lost*

  1. First of all…thank you SO much for the little needle-felted critter! How very generous and thoughtful of you. I guess you knew exactly what I was talking about and then readily found an example of one. From all the information I have about the art, it started in Japan and I’m trying to get started on doing it so now I have an example…..from JAPAN! He’s now hanging in a place of prominence on my Christmas tree. Thank you so much and Merry Christmas!

  2. I LOVE the vest in the first photo….the one with the fruit(?) on it. I wish I could wear stuff like that but, unfortunately, I have my own natural “layers”. Fun to look at though. Every one of those outfits is a work of art to me. Well seen.

  3. I saw those Santas at Shibuya last year too!!!!!
    It was so weird. I saw their group slowly gather by ハチ公 while I was waiting for a friend… I wonder what they do…

Leave a Reply

