Dinner with Grandma-Sensei

Today my grammar teacher asked our class if we would like to go out to tea with her after class and honestly, how could I resist?

an amazing postcard collection. nothing from seattle yet though - i'll have to find a good one when i go home!

an amazing postcard collection. nothing from seattle yet though - i'll have to find a good one when i go home!

I call her Grandma-sensei because she talks to us like we are her grandkids – she’s so sweet, always making sure we are avoiding theives and such, haha. I found out today that she is turning 70 this year. She graduated from Keio University when she was young but didn’t work after getting married, until when she was 54 she decided to take a program on how to teach Japanese offered at Keio. After graduating two years later she started teaching grammar classes at Keio and has been doing so ever since.

cimg7504

Only a few of us went – the others missed out! She took us to this little place down the street from Keio’s Mita Campus (I didn’t catch the name! But worry not, I plan to return) and it was lovely. When we sat down she asked us if we wanted coffee or tea and then ordered for us. We thought that would be it but about ten minutes later the staff brought out meals for all of us (sandwiches and a pasta salad), and then after that they brought out cake and our coffee! I couldn’t believe it. Really, how nice is that? Oh Grandma-sensei. How can we repay her?! Any clever ideas?

I was ready at least!

I was ready at least!

We talked for a couple of hours about her and Japan and compared various things among Japan and our respective countries (all of which I think she has been to). It was a good way to practice Japanese and it was interesting to hear about where everyone is from.

cimg7516 cimg7507

Hanna from Sweden, who recently injured her ankle in a freak rice-mill accident. No I'm just kidding, but wouldn't that make a crazy story?

Hanna from Sweden, who recently injured her ankle in a freak rice-mill accident. No I'm just kidding, but wouldn't that make a crazy story?

wang-san, ri-san, rin-sin----all from Taiwan

wang-san, ri-san, rin-san----all from Taiwan

Oh and can I please share yesterday’s sunset with you? It was so beautiful…sigh. So beautiful, so fleeting.

cimg7500

cimg7499

I am always looking out my window, and good thing, huh!

I am always looking out my window, and good thing, huh!

A pretty good day, I’d say. This 留学生 exchange student experience is pretty amazing. I can’t believe over 4 months have gone by already! It just might be going by too quickly…

2 responses to “Dinner with Grandma-Sensei

  1. Allison, thanks for stopping by my blog! Your photos are so fantastic!

    Tea with your teacher sounds lovely and so memorable! I love moments like that – they’re so interesting and unforgettable! Perhaps you can take a group photo of the class, print it, have everyone sign it, frame it and give it to her! I’m sure she’ll appreciate something like that!

Leave a Reply

