Sweeter & Sweeter

“… and you get sweeter and sweeter..”

Its been a bit grayer the last few days – and I really do feel different. When its sunny california Japan I feel cheerful and lighthearted, but gray seattle Japan makes me a little homesick & sentimental. What do you do when you get homesick? Or when its gray? I gave myself a strong dose of color and sugar!

She Knows Muffin

She Knows Muffin

Most big stations in Japan have a department store or shopping area attached, and Shinagawa station has something of the sort too. Its called “ecute” – the bottom floor is all little specialty food shops and the top is gift shops, a fancy schmancy Indian restaurant, socks store, watch store, card shop, etc.

cimg8149

raspberry, chocolate, banana, blueberry

Whenever we go home from school by way of Shinagawa st., Amy and I make a b-line for She Knows Muffin. Its a branch of Bagel & Bagel (they are good with names huh? ^_^), and is a sweet, colorful little stand with really delicious sweets. The first few times we tried the miniature muffins (chocolate, apple cinnamon, earl gray, & cheese were all good), which are bitesize so we don’t have to feel guilty. They are moist and sweet but not too sweet and they offer interesting flavors, eh?

cimg8150

Recently, however, we discovered the double chocolate brownie. This is hands down the best brownie I have ever had in Japan (granted, I have probably only had about 3 brownies in Japan), and one of the best in general. It tastes like it has banana in it and its soft and moist and mmm…hahaha ok I’ll stop there. Anyways, we split the brownie in half and its the perfect afternoon pick-me-up. When I took these pictures yesterday they didn’t have it (::shock and dismay!:: ), but the regular brownie was good too!

cimg8153

cimg81541

cimg8151

Considering how long it would take me to translate a single recipe, I'm not sure this cookbook is worth it...but I'm still considering it!

Considering how long it would take me to translate a single recipe, I'm not sure this cookbook is worth it...but I'm still considering it!

cimg8156

the combination of freshy baked sweets and fresh flowers makes for a pretty wonderful scent

the combination of freshy baked sweets and fresh flowers makes for a pretty wonderful scent

Its impolite to eat while walking in Japan, so we join these folks by the fountain to savour our afternoon snack.

Its cosidered impolite to eat while walking in Japan, so we join these folks by the fountain to savour our afternoon snack.

By the time we got back to our station the sun was out : ) I couldn’t resist the sweet pea flowers at the teensy tiny flower stand on the way home so I bought some. This guy has the best flowers. I bought lilies from him once – the biggest lillies I have ever seen! They bloomed forever! This time I asked for 500yen worth of flowers and he gave me the leaves as “service,” as well as two juicy mikan (clementines/tangerines/mandarin oranges/satsumas – whatever you call them!) – mmmmm. : )

cimg8161

cimg8162

cimg8164

I'm very resourceful

I'm very resourceful

Now the gray is back. -_- I’m done with classes at least – just have finals on Friday and Monday. Thanks for all your comments on the Good Morning post, by the way! Those were fun to read!! So now, other than my homesick/gray question, I need advice. For the my flight home, should I choose:

“vegetarian/asian/spicy

vegetarian/eggs/milk”

or, “vegetarian/no dairy”

I’m not a committed vegetarian anymore – but when it comes to flying I would really rather not pick around that airplane chicken! Hahaha. There is also a “muslim” option, which sounds intruiging, but right now I’m leaning towards the asian/spicy option…^_^

Sigh…I wish I had a reason to go through Shinagawa station today…!

6 responses to “Sweeter & Sweeter

  1. awww, that’s so cute the flower man gave you mikans too!
    I would definitely choose vegetarian/asian/spicy : )

  2. haha, agreed. Spice-aaay

    Good lyric for mood, “I want a patch of blue sky to follow me” from the song Rubber Traits

    Bad lyric for the mood, ” A darker Grey is breaking through a lighter one” from the Weakerthans

  3. Definitely the vegetarian/asian/spicy option. I loooove chick so I’d still pick that if it was there but I’m more bothered about dessert, chocolate cake mmmmm!

    I like the re-using the milk box for the flowers, very environmentally friendly :-)

  4. ooooooo….I am so gonna get my hands on the muffins!!! When I go get my reentry pass done that is!! woohooo a reason to go to Shinagawa station. I’d definitely get the dairy/eggs.. I’m vegetarian and the other time I had the asian/spicy one on JAL.. it was a lil too overpowering for the long flight I must say..

    I lovelovelove your blog! Makes me a lil less homesick in the bleak wintry greyy Tokyo.. =)

  5. We think asian spicy here at work. I hope you rinsed out the milk container. If you didn’t you will find out soon enough. Love Dad

  6. jaymie – thanks for the recommendation – i’m not flying JAL but you might have a point..haha. shinagawa station is so good and so bad…so many sweets!!

    dad – of course i rinsed out the milk container!

Leave a Reply

