Welcome home!

That was a very long day. Literally. I left Japan on January 29th at 3pm and arrived in Portland on January 29th at 7am. TIME TRAVEL.

Customs officer: ‘Morning miss.

Allison: Good morning.

Custom’s officer: Where are you coming from?

Allison: Japan

Custom’s Officer: And how long were you there for?

Allison: 5 months.

Custom’s officer: … (very long pause, skeptical face) …What exactly were you doing there for so long?

Allison: Oh, I’m an exchange student.

Custom’s officer: Oh thats great! Well, we’re glad to have you back!

Ahahaha that was the easiest time in Custom’s I have ever had! The guys in Seattle are so rude. Anyways, it was a nice arrival. My parents were waiting with flowers & big hugs. : ) We went out for breakfast at a local diner and then my mom and I spent the afternoon in downtown Portland. I managed to stay awake until 5pm and then passed out until 7am this morning.

What it looks like here.

What it looks like here.

allison-1-017

Stardust Diner

Stardust Diner

allison-1-0211
My first meal. Ahahaha. I ordered two scrambled eggs and they came with all this. This is how much I had left over, and I still got a stomach ache.

My first meal. Ahahaha. I ordered two scrambled eggs and they came with all this. This is how much I had left over, and I still got a stomach ache.

Hahaha. This is a little surreal.

6 responses to “Welcome home!

  1. Glad to see you had a safe trip home. You must have a Japanese appetite now, deshou?! You’d never see a plate of food like that in Nihon:).

    Have fun at home and I am looking forward to your Seattle posts!

  2. glad to have you only a couple hours away. come visit me soon!

    your post reminded me of when i came back from the philippines two weeks ago. my return flight had me landing in SF.

    customs officer: good afternoon, so your heading to seattle?

    me: yup.

    customs officer: what do you do there?

    me: i’m a student. (i don’t know why but i still have a habit of telling people i’m a student, second nature i guess)

    customs officer: oh what are you studying. nursing?

    me: hahaha. no. int’l studies and political science. just cuz’ i’m filipino doesn’t mean EVERY filipino is a nurse! (i didn’t say the latter part)

  3. The question is, apart from getting to see family, are you glad to be home? Japan must have been awesome!

    I just came back from a week in New York and believe me, I was actually thinking of excuses I could use to stay there for longer. Definitely not glad to be back in UK :-(

  4. hehe, that’s the most American breakfast I can imagine! : )

  5. Carmel – hahaha he actually said that?! Well, I guess he probably does see a lot of nurses coming from there..haha ay ay ay.

    Locksley – Yeah, I think that is the downside of traveling. Of course there are things I like better about both places, but I’m trying not to focus on them too much – I’ll save that for when I have to move back for good! ; )

Leave a Reply

