5am

I woke up at 5am. There is not much to do at 5am. I’m taking a break from watching the Food Network to post some pictures from downtown Portland on my first day back. I’m going again today and tomorrow and probably everyday so here goes!

allison-1-030

Oh yes, I like to look at stickers everywhere. See my *full collection* (haha) here.

allison-1-031

near powell's books

near powell's books

bike friendly <3

bike friendly <3

allison-1-034

allison-1-035

doyouknowwherethisis?

doyouknowwherethisis?

Yes, friend. Ace Hotel is still one of my favorite places! ^_-

Yes, friend. Ace Hotel is still one of my favorite places! ^_-

lunch at Paragon in the Pearl. I've had this lots of times but was it always THIS big???

Lunch at Paragon in the Pearl. I've had this lots of times but was it always THIS big???

At least you're trying.

At least you're trying.

colorcolorcolor is nice when you are in a "deep fog"

Colorcolorcolor is nice when you are in a "deep fog," as they are calling it on the news.

So now after seeing this you can rest easy knowing that I am still doing my best! Hahaha. Really, I really like Portland, really. Apparently lots of people do – I’ve been hearing a lot about it being “the greatest city in the country” and such. To be honest, I have been to only a few big U.S. cities (and all of them on the West Coast) but I like it best so far! During high school I would beg my dad to let me explore on the weekends so even though Seattle is bigger and I’ve been living there for a few years now I can still find a lot more to do down here. Just wait! : )

About being home again. Well, I guess its mixed. Seeing family & friends is great of course but otherwise, yes, mixed. I think its hard not to look critically on home after you’ve been traveling for a while, no? So I’m trying not to. After being in Tokyo for so long I’ve come to the conclusion that there’s really no comparison – these are just different places. No need to put one up against the other. Mostly, I’m just amazed at how big everything is. *laughs*

I don’t know, maybe I’ll make a Ven Diagram (yea, remember those?) or something while I’m back and post it before I return. Haha.

4 responses to “5am

  1. “No need to put one up against the other.”

    agreed! home is always going to be home and it will always be there for you.. new places are always nice. we learn to love and hate but we find our joys at every situation.

    enjoy home!
    japan and i will be waiting for you! =)

  2. Once again, some nice pictures you have got here. It’s good that you like the place you live. You don’t need to have a favourite place, like you said they are just different places.

    Almost all of my friends don’t like where we live, yet all my relatives I have that are other places in the world seem to love it where they live.. I need to move or somehow learn to like where I live :-p

Leave a Reply

