3 in a row: Upper Playground, Compound, & Backspace

Lined up in the international district of downtown Portland, these three are a good place to stop.

allison-1-089

Upper Playground is a gallery and urban street wear shop  – I think it started in San Francisco and just opened up in Seattle as well. Compound has a gallery, sells street wear, lots of imported toys, figurines, imported magazines (mostly Japanese), and artsy coffee table books – the gallery is the best part but the collectables are fun to look at too.  Backspace is my favorite of the three – part cafe (vegetarian!!), part internet & gaming room, & part gallery. I think they have shows here too–I missed Crystal Castles last year, boooooo. Anyways, on to the pictures:

Compound

allison-1-094

GOJIRA!

GOJIRA!

I love these

I love these

allison-1-096

allison-1-097

allison-1-100

Just out the door. I like collecting these.

Just out the door. I like collecting these.

allison-1-104

Backspace

allison-1-116

allison-1-107

allison-1-1111

allison-1-110

allison-1-108 allison-1-114

"I gotta find out who this hermano guy is!" ((probably misquoted) from arrested development)

"I gotta find out who this hermano guy is!" ((probably misquoted) from arrested development)

Also home to the scariest ATM in the world. Looks straight out of Nightmare Before Christmas, yeah?

Also home to the scariest ATM in the world. Looks straight out of Nightmare Before Christmas, yeah?

Upper Playground

allison-1-117

Mural by Sam Flores

Mural by Sam Flores

allison-1-120

Those are  all the pictures I took there, oops. I did get an exciting new shirt though…

With my grandpa who recently decided to let his beard grow - hahaha.

With my grandpa who recently decided to let his beard grow - hahaha.

That’s all for today! Have a good one.

3 responses to “3 in a row: Upper Playground, Compound, & Backspace

  1. a couple of weeks ago i went to upper playground for a gallery opening up here (seattle). the location is kind of off to me. the ave., plus it’s located below those new apts. next to the wilsonian. weird.

Leave a Reply

