Special Post: Tokyo on Polaroid!

Like many of you, I’m sure, I have been hoarding my remaining Polaroid film for some time now. Yes, I heard about that Austrian guy saving Polaroid…but when will we see film on the shelves again? Anyway I suddenly had the desire to use one of my last few packs of film the other day–so here are the pictures!

But first I must apologize. For one thing, I don’t have a scanner. More importantly however, this film is over two years old (my dad got it from the hospital he works at since they were no longer using it) and the xrays at airport security no doubt did a serious number on it.  So…the color is faded and yellowy – but it doesn’t really matter to me.

I'm not sure whether I was in Okachimachi or Ueno at this point, but I stumbled upon this beautiful temple right on a lake. The blossoms are not cherry blossoms, but pretty nonetheless.

I'm not sure whether I was in Okachimachi or Ueno at this point, but I stumbled upon this beautiful temple right on a lake. The blossoms are not cherry blossoms, but pretty nonetheless.

Ameyoko - site of the black market during world war two. Its still a market with all kinds of cheap goods, but nothing illegal as far as I could tell :P

Ameyoko - site of the black market during world war two. Its still a market with all kinds of cheap goods, but nothing illegal as far as I could tell : P Oops about the fingerprints...

A shoe store in the aforementioned Ameyoko market.

A shoe store in the aforementioned Ameyoko market.

The lake I mentioned above. There were peddle boats and swans!

The lake I mentioned above. There were peddle boats and swans!

Bape store, Shibuya. I don't shop here, but I have to admit I like walking in the store! Haha. The glass floors light up all different colors, and there are rows of shoes moving back and forth under the glass - its pretty cool to look at.

Bape store, Shibuya. I don't shop here, but I have to admit I like walking in the store! Haha. The glass floors light up all different colors, and there are rows of shoes moving back and forth under the glass - its pretty cool to look at.

Standing in THAT crosswalk in Shibuya. I am not a burn victim, but my pink floral tights sure make it look that way in this picture. :p

Standing in THAT crosswalk in Shibuya. I am not a burn victim, but my pink floral tights sure make it look that way in this picture. :p

This was on the side of a building. "Don't worry any more" is what it says...I think (?). I didn't study Japanese at all while I was home!

This was on the side of a building. "Don't worry any more!!" is what it says...I think (?). I didn't study Japanese at all while I was home!

Most people hang dry their clothes here. I tried this with my first load of laundry after moving here in September, and the clotheshanger crumbled when I pinched it - I guess it had dried out in the sun. I have walked to the laundromat accross the street to use the dryers ever since.

Most people hang dry their clothes here. I tried this with my first load of laundry after moving here in September, and the clotheshangers crumbled when I pinched them - I guess they had dried out in the sun. I have walked to the laundromat accross the street to use the dryers ever since.

A platform at Okachimachi Station. Can you see that whitish smudge? Some of the developer (or something?) leaked out of the polaroid!

A platform at Okachimachi Station. Can you see that whitish smudge? Some of the developer (or something?) leaked out of the polaroid!

*click for full view

Thanks for looking!! I hope you enjoyed : )

7 responses to “Special Post: Tokyo on Polaroid!

  1. I love the way these look!
    I think polariods look better when they’re old : )

  2. These are lovely!
    I’ve never had a chance to use a Polaroid, but I’ve always loved the style they sorta impart to the pictures.

  3. They’re gorgeous. And aren’t those lake pictures at Shinobazu pond? I love that BAPE store, I dragged my boy in there when it was closing and they waited patiently for us to leave :P

Leave a Reply

