Anticipation

Spring is coming—is here?  Since I have been back its been sunny and relatively warm almost everyday (in the 60s-farenheit), except Friday and today. Its also been incredibly windy. The wind in Tokyo has been a source of amazement since the beginning of the year. There have been times when its so loud you can’t sleep. The torrential downpours also amaze me. Haha. We get a lot of rain in Seattle  but its more of an all-day drizzle, wouldn’t you say?  Anyway…. here are some pictures from my walk in lovely Okachimachi/Ueno the other day. I looked it up and it turns out that lake I mentioned in my last post is actually called Shinobazu Pond. I also went to the Tokyo National Museum (just sort of stumbled upon it), but I felt a little cheated of my 400yen (~$4) as the whole 2nd floor was closed for renovation!

cimg0068

cimg0076 cimg0078

cimg0083

cimg0088

cimg0090

cimg00981

cimg0103

cimg0105 cimg0091

cimg0106

cimg0107 cimg0116

They're surrounding a street performer outside of the Tokyo National Museum & the Ueno Zoo

They're surrounding a street performer outside of the Tokyo National Museum & the Ueno Zoo

Homeless people in Japan, as far as I've seen, seem by and large to just be very old men. Of course I don't even know for sure if he's homeless...maybe he just wanted to nap in the sunshine?

Homeless people in Japan, as far as I've seen, seem by and large to just be very old men. Of course I don't even know for sure if he's homeless...maybe he just wanted to nap in the sunshine?

I took this same picture two years ago but lost it when my hard drive crashed. Its just outside of Ueno Station.

I took this same picture two years ago but lost it when my hard drive crashed. Its just outside of Ueno Station.

The Ueno Zoo panda that is no more, watching the sunset.

The Ueno Zoo panda that is no more, watching the sunset.

Now, I have a question for you.

Have you ever experienced bad dreams after moving somewhere new? I’ve never really been one to have nightmares, but I do fairly often in Japan. When I first moved here in September I had them frequently, and my dreams have been unsettling since I’ve gotten back this time too (but not at all in Seattle/Portland). Now, I wouldn’t exactly call them nightmares–I don’t wake up screaming or anything – but they’re…as I said, unsettling.

Is Japan haunted?! I’m only sort of kidding, Isn’t this a little odd? : p

Tell me what you think! Oh and I hope you liked the pictures– getting excited for the cherry blossoms??

*click images for full view

** oh and thanks for looking!! :)

10 responses to “Anticipation

  1. I have trouble sleeping in a new place sometimes, but I never remember my dreams–good or bad. Also, I’m just bad at sleeping in general…(4:40am)

  2. omg i’ve never been to Ueno Zoo yet! :(
    reading your blog makes me even more impatient!
    can’t wait to hang out love!!
    one more week!!!!
    miss you!!!!!

  3. lol@ being bad at sleeping.

    yeah first few nights i dont sleep well, a few hours max. its not really nightmares, i dont think, like kelsey i stopped remembering my dreams a while ago. but i know theyre busy, and sometimes i wake up exhausted.

  4. I really like Ueno/Okachimachi.. I hated it initially but because I live right smack in Ameyoko I learnt to love how noisy and crowded everything is.

    I can relate to the bad dreams.. after moving to Tokyo I kinda get them a lot too.. always pretty spooked when I wake up. And the scary part is how they are recurring dreams. I guess its prolly part of the new place new experience.

    I must say that you really inspired me to walk around and take the effort to go to new places.. ^^

  5. yes i like the cherry blossoms! looks so beautiful with the trees in bloom. i’m really bad at sleeping in new places but i don’t think i have more nightmares. sounds bad! hope it’s only because you just came back and that it will go away. : ) loved the polaroids!

  6. HEY I just went there today. it was soo fun. I spent almost the whole day there. but all the museums and stuff were closed since it was monday. i know they do that in america but here too! what is up with mondays and musems being closed?

    it was still mega fun though.

  7. i read somewhere, i think nytimes that japan had the highest suicide rate among the elderly. maybe homelessness is a factor? when i was in korea for 12 hours i asked my friend about homeless people there. in seoul most are elderly due to the poor infrastructure of the health care system especially in elderly care.

    i too had awful nightmares in manila. probably cuz’ of all the thunder and lightning and living alone in a house. the roof was also made of metal so when a cat would jump off a tree and onto my roof it would make an awful sound.

    sleep well.

  8. strangely enough it was the other way around for me. Before going to Japan I used to have quite a lot of nightmares but for some reason after I arrived there I didn’t get so many nightmares. Awesome pictures as usual, I quite like Ueno!

  9. Maybe the bad dreams were because of stress somewhere deep in your conscience? Maybe not really stress, but just some pressure because of the differences that you experienced when you moved.

    People around me know that I always dream of something weird, but recently I often dream of running. It is a little annoying because every time I wake up I feel even more tired than before. People say maybe I am stressed out by something, though I am not sure what it is that stress me out.

  10. It always rained the week(end)s I went to Tokyo. Always! I spent quite a few rainy days walking around Tokyo with my umbrella. The day I went to Ueno park, it was deserted. And the boat place at Shinobazu was shut down. I was confused! I’m making my boyfriend take me on a date in one of those boats next time I’m in Tokyo (:

Leave a Reply

