Quiet Place

I usually run along this river in the morning, and the other day it was so pretty I decided to come back in the afternoon and read in the sun. I pretty much blew away in the wind, but I got a few nice pictures of 春一番, as Kohei (Yes, Kohei! Scroll down) called it, or “the first of Spring” – which apparently includes a lot of wind and a few rainy days.

cimg9996

cimg0002

cimg0003

cimg0006

cimg0007

cimg0008

cimg0009

cimg0014 cimg0018

cimg0024

cimg0025

cimg0036

Ok now, for any friends back home who were concerned that Kohei might have fallen off of the planet – he is alive and well and living in Tokyo now!  We met up in Ginza and found this old temple (?)…bridge..something or other and then went to an Izakaya. I tried all kinds of delicious little dishes and also shochu for the first time.  Well, it turns out shochu and I don’t get along very well. After dinner we went to see that silly Dragonball movie, and I slept through the ENTIRE thing – like, previews to credits. Haha….well, anyone know, was the movie as hilarious as I thought it would be? Should I try again someday?

There were all kinds of tourists taking pictures in front of this gate so of course we did too.

There were all kinds of tourists taking pictures in front of this gate so of course we did too.

ta da!

ta da!

Quite pretty, no?

Quite pretty, no?

Right near the izakaya where I lost my small battle with shochu, which I am still recovering from today.

Right near the izakaya where I lost my small battle with shochu, which I am still recovering from today.

: P

*click images for full view

**thanks for viewing!

8 responses to “Quiet Place

  1. Kohei! You saved him from being lost to the vast lostness of Japan from which I thought he would never emerge (haha). I’m so glad you guys met up. I can’t even remember the Japanese pick-up lines anymore, but you should jog his memory about those. Sorry for not telling you about my new blog.. but I promise to make you proud this time around : )

  2. Dude, that is not just some gate. You guys are in front of the imperial palace where the emperor and his family live! All the water around that place is like a spiral moat thingy with mines and everything.

  3. HAHAHAHA seriously?! Maybe we should go back and appreciate it more…puahahahahaha what the heck kind of yearlong tourist am I?!

  4. another round of nice looking photos! i especially like the blurry one of the men walking and the ones from the river bank with birds and concrete. looks like you had a great time : )

  5. The flowers are so pretty. Are they Sakura? Since it is Spring, I figure you would do Hanami soon?

    By the way, I am so sorry for flooding your blog with comments in a day ^^;; Your stories and pictures are so interesting :D

  6. :D
    that’s pretty funny that you slept through the whole entire movie! haha. I’m actually super impressed.
    and glad to hear that kohei’s still alive!!!

  7. I laughed at the Imperial Palace comment….haha. You’re bad がいじん. The first pictures look almost exactly like a place in the city where I lived! Brings back memories (:

Leave a Reply

