Hanami on film

This is my first roll of film with my new camera : ). What do you think? I like the way these look so much better than the ones I took with my little old digital camera (so quickly I abandon you, casio – forgive me!).

cnv002

A couple of terms you should know:

Sakura – The Japanese name for cherry trees/ cherry blossoms

Hanami – The traditional Japanese custom of veiwing the cherry blossoms. Since the sakura usually only bloom for a couple of weeks, people make a big event out of hanami. Typically one person will go to a park very early in the morning to reserve a good spot under a tree and then friends, family, coworkers, etc. will just spend the day there eating, drinking, and admiring the sakura. Its kind of an all day picnic – and you’re allowed to drink in public in Japan – so its a pretty good time. You can read more about Hanami here!

cnv003

I remember reading somewhere for an art history class that in Buddhist philosophy sakura are thought to be a good example of the fleeting beauty of life.

I went to Ueno Park and Shinobazu Pond (Remember my pictures from there a couple weeks ago?) with a bunch of friends from my dorm yesterday and it was beautiful, as you can see. Ueno Park is known as kind of a “party” hanami spot – I’ve heard that things get a little more crazy there than other parks…haha..

People set up these makeshift picnic tables & just hang out all day.

People set up these makeshift picnic tables & just hang out all day.

We got there too late in the afternoon to find any open spots under the trees, but it was still fun to walk around admiring everything.

This came out kind of dark..

This came out kind of dark..

cnv006 cnv007

cnv008

cnv009

Michelle is afraid of birds so she did not handle this well..haha.

Michelle is afraid of birds so she did not handle this well..haha.

There were lots of makeshift stands selling all kinds of stuff - this one had zillions of old cameras.

There were lots of makeshift stands selling all kinds of stuff - this one had zillions of old cameras.

Sunny & Ricarda eating yakisoba and okonomiyaki...mmmm

Sunny & Ricarda eating yakisoba and okonomiyaki...mmmm

Seul-chan with a new haircut

Seul-chan with a new haircut

cnv014

cnv015

cnv016

cnv017

L. Ploy

L. Ploy

Mm..this was very salty.

Mm..this was very salty.

Ben won a fish! Now what will he do with it?

Ben won a fish! Now what will he do with it?

Michelle took this sunset

Michelle took this sunset

I told them they could act normal but I think they failed.

I told them they could act normal but I think they failed.

Yutaro, Michelle, Ben C., Ben T., L. Ploy

Yutaro, Michelle, Ben C., Ben T., L. Ploy

L. Ploy took this - Yutaro, me and Ben C.

L. Ploy took this - Yutaro, me and Ben C.

It was a good day : ) I love this camera!!

  • click images for full view
  • *thanks for viewing!

7 responses to “Hanami on film

  1. whoaa… those sakura! beautiful indeed.
    and… i know it might sound very stupid and silly, but i’m kinda wondering, “does it smell good? what it is like?” i mean, does it smell too sweet like jasmine or tea-like as rose? or… i don’t know, i’m just curious about that. maybe by knowing how it smells i can imagine what it feels like, walking on a path surrounded by the cherry blossoms, ^^V

    cheers there
    -niken-

  2. I’m in love with your pictures! I didn’t know it got that crowded at parks!
    I rediscovered my camera the other day and found it with 5 pictures left. I have no idea what I took on that film. I’m excited use the rest and see! :D

  3. Hey they came out supeR NICE! =)
    sorry the picture i took came out kinda shitty!!!

    but i really like the picture of us looking at bens new kin-chan! haha

    it was a pretty nice day! =)

  4. what a terrific event! i love the idea of putting everything on hold and hang out all day because it’s spring and the cherry trees are in blossom. “hanami,” right? i wish i’d thought to do that when i was at uw…

  5. very beautiful! i love the new pictures with your new camera~
    it really inspires me to go take my parent’s/sister’s camera and go out to shoot pictures hehe

Leave a Reply

