Earth Day Tokyo 2009

cimg0879

cimg0886

cimg08881

This was pretty cool - you had you rent plates, bowls, cups, etc. and bring them with you to the food stands to get your meals, then return and help clean them when you finished eating! There are usually mountains of trash at festivals here so I was pretty impressed by this.

For joining a farm co-op I think.

For joining a farm co-op I think.

cimg0894 cimg0895 cimg0901 cimg0906

cimg0908

cimg0912

cimg0913 cimg0920 cimg0921 cimg0924

cimg0926

cimg0928

cimg0930

cimg0934

It was a nice festival! I got information on lots of organic/vegetarian cafes, which will be fun to go exploring for.  I think its still going on so head over to Yoyogi park and check it out if you’re in Tokyo! I looked at several stands about volunteering for this and that but since I don’t read Japanese it wasn’t particularly educational for me. I just liked the atmosphere and such.

I did pick up info on the cafes like I said though so if you’re interested in it let me know and I’ll email it to you : )

Excuse me while I return to my super-vegetarian high school self…hahaha. Well, probably after I get home at least – its pretty tough in Japan and seafood is so yummy here… ;)

*click images for full view

**thanks for viewing

3 responses to “Earth Day Tokyo 2009

  1. That is really cool about checking out the plates and silverware. Here in Germany, the world’s number one recyclers, they have a Pfand system. That meaning like ‘money return from recycling or returning.’ My friend Patrik bought a cup of coffee that cost 5 euro (2.50 for the coffee and 2.50 for the cup). After he was finished he was given back the 2.50.. So it is either a good way to recycle or to buy expensive coffee cups :P

  2. Hi, I was wondering how do you always know where to explore next and I read that you try to go to a new place everyday.. any must go places? I’d love to know more about the cafes..thank you!~

    • Hi Jaymie – hmm I don’t really know where to go next. I just randomly choose a different stop on the Yamanote line or go wherever I have been recommended to go. I have been indulgent and keep going to the same places over and over…haha. I really like Shimokitazawa, Daikanyama, Harajuku (esp. Ura-Harajuku – the back streets), and Shibuya. I’ll be putting links for all my food (cafe) posts onto a new page so you can access them more easily soon so please check back! :)

      Do you live in Japan too? Where do you usually go for fun?

Leave a Reply

