“It’s Been Eight Years (film)

…I’d like to travel through time, but I can’t do that…” (I’m listening to The Radio Dept.)

Look mom, a tattoo. (Don't worry, it already rubbed off)

Fake tattoo and borrowed glasses.

Yeah that is one cool pose L. Ploy.

She ought to patent that pose, yeah?

Princess

kakkoiiiii ne

"the ugly one!!" (come on...teen girl squad anyone?)

"the ugly one!!" (come on...teen girl squad* anyone?)

I was supposed to go to Fuji-Q amusement park tomorrow with friends but the weather forecast says rain! Too bad..

I think I will curl up with my literary lover Gabriel Garcia Marquez and some tea. F. Scott Fitzgerald, favored novelist and short story writer of my high school years, might finally be facing some true competition. Who are your favorite authors? Favorite books? I’d like to take advantage of my free time by reading more – especially since there is a huge Kinokuniya bookstore in Shinjuku with a massive collection of books in English. Anything you recommend picking up?

*teen girl squad (mentioned above)

**click images for full view

***thanks for looking!

8 responses to ““It’s Been Eight Years (film)

  1. I tend to give anything a chance when it comes to reading, but I’ve been really enjoying the classics lately (Flatlands, The Metamorphosis, The Time Machine, Wizard of Oz, etc.). Favorite books include The Art of War by Sun Tzu, Tick Tock by Dean Koontz, and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, to name a few.

    • Ohh I’ve been meaning to read The Metamorphosis for a while! I tried reading Wuthering Heights when I was a freshman in high school and I couldn’t get into it. I had just finished Gone With the Wind though, so my mind was a little preoccupied with that.. I guess I should try again!

  2. I love F Scott too!!! We have a production in Sydney atm called “gatz’ a 6 hour reading of The Great Gatsby by a new york theatrical company… just wondering if i’m hardcore enough a fan to go.

    Breakfast at tiffany’s by Capote is excellent even though its just a novella, for messed up and Japanese try Murakami.

    I’ve been reading 3-5 books a week for the past year and still Proust’s ‘In Search of Lost time’ is… unbeatable for literary merit, but you really really have to be patient to enjoy it!

    If its just ‘me time’ you’re after, The time traveller’s wife by A. Niffinnegger might suit.

    • I think I would sit through the Gatsby reading..haha..obsession status.

      I really like Murakami but not while I’m IN Japan…for some reason the strangeness of it freaks me out a little, actually living here.

      I’m going to add the other three to my list! Thanks!

  3. “Number 9 Dream” by David Mitchell is easily the best novel written by a foreigner in/about Japan – influenced heavily by Murakami, but with its own distinct voice (and even more enjoyable if you know the places in Tokyo he writes about – same as your blog!).

      • Thanks – I hope you’ll like it…has some freak-out potential similar to Murakami, but (hopfully) much more humor.

Leave a Reply

