Cafe 8

This vegetarian cafe near Sangenjaya was pretty difficult to find so prepare ahead of time – we actually stopped to ask for directions 3 times! It was well worth the hour of wandering though..

cimg0974

Yuko and I read about Cafe 8 in a brochure about vegetarian & organic cafes in Tokyo that we got at the Earth Day Tokyo festival. It was simple and quiet, had about 4 lunch menu options (including a soup plate, a sandwich plate, and curry), and a very tempting dessert case. We both got the にぎやかなっとう丼、which they translated as “funky natto donburi.”

The tiny side salad was delicious - I think it was a tahini-based dressing.

The tiny side salad was delicious - I think it was a tahini-based dressing.

The natto donburi - served in a sort of Korean bibimbap style.

The natto donburi - served in a sort of Korean bibimbap style.

This was GOOD. But I’m not sure it would be good to everyone. If you’ve never tried natto before..well, you’ll either love it or hate it. Its made of fermented soybeans and has a very strong scent and taste, but I’m told its quite good for you. I like it anyway!

Lets see what was in here...avocado, tofu, eggplant, kimchee, bean sprouts, natto, carrots, and seaweed - all on top of brown rice.

Lets see what was in here...avocado, tofu, eggplant, kimchee, bean sprouts, natto, carrots, and seaweed - all on top of brown rice.

Creative, no? The combination of all these things was better than you might expect! I promise! It was quite filling too but we ignored that fact and got TWO desserts.

Spiced carrot cake

Spiced carrot cake

It had figs, walnuts, and lots of ginger - and was dense and moist.

It had figs, walnuts, and lots of ginger - and was dense and moist.

Baked apple with tofu cream

Baked apple with tofu cream

MM these were both incredible but we were also incredibly full - it was probably unnecessary to get two...oh well! :)

MM these were both incredible but we were also incredibly full - it was probably unnecessary to get two...oh well! : )

Yuko!

Yuko!

I got that shirt when I was 15.

I got that shirt when I was 15. Haha..someday I'll let it go.

Here are some pictures from inside the cafe. They were also selling bags, shirts, cookbooks, and some foods.

cimg0988 cimg0989 cimg0991

It was a nice area too! Very green. We spent the rest of the afternoon walking – around Sangenjaya and then to Shimokitazawa. Everything is always closer together than I expect it to be.

cimg1003 cimg1005

cimg1001

If I didn’t have so many other places to try I would come back here in a heartbeat!

Thanks for reading

*click images for full view!

11 responses to “Cafe 8

  1. I shall be coming with you on your next stop for sure! And I see your workin that blue microsoft bag there!!

  2. omg.. that tofu don and desert looks SOOO tasty!!! i’m going to the sweets festa tomorrow, are you??? hopefully its as good as how its advertised! :) xoxo

  3. this is such a fantastic blog! i am SO glad i stumbled across this– it’s absolutely perfect! i’ve always been fascinated with japan. and i’m not japanese either, so it’s great to see pictures and comments from the eyes of a foreigner.

    i can’t believe i didn’t see this sooner. thank you so much, this will be one of my new favorites!

    • Ah really? Thank you!! Have you ever been to Japan? What about it are you interested in? Maybe I can take some photos! : )

      • yes and no..i’ve only been there for a stopover so that hardly counts. hah.

        and thank you, but there’s nothing in particular that i’d like to be photographed. you pretty much capture the little things i like to see!

  4. mmm that spiced carot cake looks delicious – i feel inspired to try and make one myself with ginger in it!

  5. This cafe looks fantastic!
    I’ll definitely visit it next time I’m in Tokyo.
    And you’re adorable!
    I love your fashion.

Leave a Reply

