the ground we walk on (film)

These are the remaining photos from my explorations before and between classes the other day. These are from all around Tamachi, Hamamatsucho, and Shinagawa.

FH000002

FH000021

I don't see full parking lots often.. I've heard that it can cost around $400 a month to park in Tokyo.

This crosswalk near campus plays an old and slightly spooky tune when the signal turns green to let people know they can walk. I really like it.

This crosswalk near campus plays an old and slightly spooky tune when the signal turns green to let people know they can walk. I really like it.

A boat canal midway between Hamamatsucho station and Tamachi station.

A boat canal midway between Hamamatsucho station and Tamachi station.

I might have to google this one.

I might have to google this one.

Across the street from Hamamatsucho. I loved the picture of the girl but I have no idea what those posters are about. Does anyone know?

Across the street from Hamamatsucho. I loved the picture of the girl but I have no idea what those posters are about...all I know is that it says something about New York up above. Anyone know?

Same location as the last picture, looking up.

Same location as the last picture, looking up.

When I first arrived in Japan with my mom in September I took I.D. photos for foreigner registration purposes in a booth just to the right of where I took this picture.

When I first arrived in Japan with my mom in September I took I.D. photos for foreigner registration purposes in a booth just to the right of this crazy building.

Looking up from the ground below, this building looks infinitely tall. I've stopped to look at it several times.

Looking up from the ground below, this building looks infinitely tall. I've stopped to look at it several times.

It still surprises me occasionally to see cars on the left side of the road.

It still surprises me occasionally to see cars driving on the left side of the road.

I wonder if the people on the other side of the walls could see...that would be moderately embarassing.

I wonder if the people on the other side of the walls could see...that would be moderately embarassing.

I like reflective surfaces in cities

I like reflective surfaces in cities

Someone had a party..

Someone had a party..

I forgot about these last two, they are from several days ago when it rained a lot. This is taken on an outdoor walkway at this huge restaurant/ business complex near Shinagawa station.

I forgot about these last two, they are from several days ago when it rained a lot. This is taken on an outdoor walkway at this huge restaurant/ business complex near Shinagawa station.

FH000024

I hope you’re enjoying the film photos. I know I said I would limit myself to one roll a week but I just can’t resist. Even if the pictures turn out bad I still feel so excited when I go pick up the film.

Yuko and I have made plans to go to Taiwan in the very near future, which I am terribly excited about. If you have ever been there can you please leave some recommendations in the comments section or email me? I would really appreciate it! Thanks!

*click images to enlarge

15 responses to “the ground we walk on (film)

  1. I like the first picture of the bikes a lot. I wish Koreans rode more bikes and less motorbikes.. makes crossing the street safer (for me) :)

  2. you should record the “slightly spooky tune when the signal ” and post it

  3. I love your pictures! They make me want to escape to japan right immedieatly! (sorry, my english sucks, live in sweden) what are you studying? :)

    • Thanks Emelie! Have you ever been to Japan? There are several Swedish people in my program and they are so nice I want to visit Sweden next! In Japan I’m just studying Japanese – its a language exchange program – its an impossibly difficult language though!

      • No, I’ve never been there! /: I’m trying to save money to make it there maybe 2010 and I will try to learn some japanese before..I have a really geeky friend of mine who can help me I think ;)

  4. Cool photos! Love that one of that crazy triangle building.

    I have a friend living in Taiwan, (just moved at the beginning of the year) I’ll ask him about cool places and things to do.

    email address is up there ^

    Peace!

  5. I feel like your photography skills have improved. or it could just be the different film that you’re using.

    the walkway looks really cool. how one side is soaked, making a reflection on the ground, yet the other side is so dry. why didn’t a wet person walk on the dry side? is it illegal?!

    • No you might be right, I have actually been reading the manual so hopefully its making a difference, ha.

      When are you coming to Japan? Maybe it will still be rainy season and you will get an opportunity to break the mold and walk on the dry side!

  6. Hi, beautiful nice pics!
    I love your photos!
    The NYC pic you were wondering about was just a decoration for the construction wall (probably just to make the wall a little decorative more then just a “wall”). Also it says that NYC & Tokyo has been a sister town since 1950, so I believe thats the reason why they chose the pics. Actually I never knew that Tokyo and NYC has had any kind of relationship like this!
    Looking at your blog, its very interesting to have a “home town” view through a foreign student eyes and I really like it alot! So keep up with your wonderful pics and enjoy TOKYO!

    • Wow thanks for translating! I didn’t know they have had a relationship either. Thanks for looking at my blog, I’m glad you like it. I’ve just looked at yours and I love the images – – wish I could read it all–haha…I should study harder..
      : )

Leave a Reply

