On trains and in buildings (film)

Yesterday I went to the massive Design Festa event at Tokyo Big Sight in Odaiba (thanks again, Eva, for the heads up!). I managed to see the whole thing in 7 hours but I was pretty exhausted by the end. It was great though – I was really impressed by all the creativity and energy there. My next post will be about my top picks from the convention, so watch out for that tomorrow!

On the Yurikamome line sky train - one of my favorite lines in Tokyo.

On the Yurikamome line sky train - one of my favorite lines in Tokyo.

FH000024

One of the Yurikamome line platforms

One of the Yurikamome line platforms


Tokyo Big Site - location of the Design Festa event. "Big" is a genuine understatment.

Tokyo Big Site - location of the Design Festa event. "Big" is a genuine understatement.


Somehow I missed whatever booth these guys belonged to. They were wandering around the convention all day.

Somehow I missed whatever booth these guys belonged to. They were wandering around the convention all day.


This was only the entrance.

This was only the entrance.


FH000016

Unfortunately I have the makings of a pretty awful watch tanline so its time to retire that watch for the next few months.


To tired to stand.

To tired to stand.


I always feel uncomfortable in Shimbashi subway station. If you're 4 floors underground how do you get out in an emergency?

I always feel uncomfortable in Shimbashi subway station. If you're 4 floors underground how do you get out in an emergency?

FH000001

FH000012

I've been meaning to try shots like this. Obviously I need to keep working on it.. : P

And after that long day, a drink at a cool local Izakaya –

FH000014

FH000013

Thoughts? By the way can someone give me some tips on these long exposure shots? I’d appreciate it! Oh and by the way, I’m leaving for Taiwan tomorrow for a short trip with Yuko. If you have any last minute recommendations or tips please let me know! I’m still trying to decide whether or not to bring my laptop, but I’m writing all my blog posts for the next few days so I can still publish them while I’m gone. Don’t leave me! I’ll still be able to read and reply to your comments! : )

*click images for full view!

12 responses to “On trains and in buildings (film)

  1. I am trying to imagine how huge that Design convention was, but… I can’t! I am always impressed when I see big stuff (and lots of people in the same place), cause things in Denmark are never big :)

    For long exposure shots – tripod! Or basically anything to put your camera on to avoid shaking if we’re talking really long ones.

  2. I couldn’t put my finger on it before, but I think I’ve got it. Those first few pictures in the train, all of the soft colors and almost pastels, remind me of the 80’s in Miami (Vice) so to speak. Deiner Meinung?

    *too

  3. yaaa long exposures rule! the one of the train is sick. ya, tripods help a lot. i just set my camera down and use the self timer. though if you pick the right setting, you’d be able to get a decent shot hand held. and it’s all about the shutter priority mode. the longer the shutter is open the more light gets in. and ya might wanna turn the iso down to prevent noise. it won’t matter if you’re using film as you can’t adjust it. long exposures work really well with water too.

    and nice asian squatting ben. the tungolians would be proud.

  4. Hello!

    that shot of the train going past is tops!

    If you are into making street art, graffiti and stickers, Taiwan seems to be a great opportunity. As my friend said on weeknights the city seems to be dead by around 2am. also the graffiti that he’s seen is top notch. please get some snaps :)

    oh this is from my friend who is travelling

    “the art museums are cool, not really museums but more like big galleries. they are quite high tech and interesting”

    “seeing the alishan sunrise is a must. you go more than 2km up the mountain and see the sunrise above the clouds over the mountain”

    taipei 101, chiang kai shek memorial hall, sun moon lake

    the towns of lugang, jiji, and chiayi

    and there are heaps of hotsprings to go to!

    p.s check out my website haha

  5. ahh sorry to spam up your comments got some more recommendations

    “id give taipei zoo a miss, but check out the night markets in taipei, they are huge and cheap”

    “try to see fireflies in rueli, but i think the season has passed, or is now, and fenchihu was dope, has mean bamboo forests”

    also interesting museums, and galleries in Taipei. theres a Paper Museum. Which is apparently a museum about cool things you can do with paper!

    • hahah. Sorry Again.

      Also Taroko gorge, which is a road through a huge gorge with steep mountains, waterfalls and temples and walking trails along the way. and its easy to stop to take photos.

      My friend said a good idea is if you have an international drivers licence you can rent a scooter for really cheap for 24 hours which you can go pretty much anywhere. and most hotels and accomodation have scooter parking etc.

      • Wow these tips are great!!! Thank you and your friend so much! We are here in Taipei now. I think we’re going to try and find our way to the National Palace Museum today… fingers crossed. haha.

        I saw some cool street art from the bus on the way to the hotel from the airport last night. Hopefully I see more over the next few days. I’ll take pictures for sure!

    • Wow yeah those are exactly what I’m aiming for. Its difficult with film because I can’t see right away if the shot came out or not and adjust things.

Leave a Reply

