Daytrip to Nikko (film)

I’ve been feeling a little burned out on Tokyo lately so I went on a daytrip by myself to Nikko yesterday. Technically Nikko is still part of Tokyo but it feels dramatically different. I treated myself to a direct train with a reserved seat. This cost me around $60 round trip, which is  $15 more than it would cost to go the multiple transfer, standing route, and I think it was completely worth it. I fully enjoyed listening to my music and looking out the window for two hours – it might be one of the most relaxing things I’ve done in a while. Here are the photos I took of the traveling part.

FH010011

I got to Shinjuku station at around 6:45am to buy my train ticket. The train didn’t leave until 7:30 though so until then I browsed a convenience store, bought my eki-bento (see last post), and people watched.

FH010010

FH010009

FH010007

Everyone is always wearing suits.

Browsing the bento selection.

Browsing the bento selection.

Oh the things you can buy in a train station.

Oh the things you can buy in a train station.

My train, the Tobu-Nikko Express "Spacia."

My train, the Tobu-Nikko Express "Spacia."

I know it sounds silly but, since I'm always standing on the train or squeezing into the bench seats, having my own personal chair felt sooo luxurious.

I know it sounds silly but, since I'm always standing on the train or squeezing into the bench seats, having my own personal chair felt sooo luxurious.

FH010003

Don't mind if I do!

Don't mind if I do!

Passing through Ikebukuro station.

Passing through Ikebukuro station.

We passed by miles and miles of rice fields. Rice fields are really the most beautiful shade of green I can think of but if you've never seen one you wouldn't know it from looking at this blueish picture. Haha oh how I love my camera.

The train passed by miles and miles of rice fields. Rice fields are really the most beautiful shade of green I can think of but if you've never seen one you wouldn't know it from looking at this blueish picture. Haha oh how I love my camera.

Tobu-Nikko station.

Tobu-Nikko station.

Tomorrow: beautiful, beautiful Nikko.

*click images for full view please!

5 responses to “Daytrip to Nikko (film)

  1. Hello:

    I stumbled upon your blog a few days ago, and just have to tell you how lovely it is! Japan is my most favorite place, and your photos and commentaries are so wonderful; reading them really makes me nostalgic!

    Thank you for bringing a little bit of Japan to me, and please keep up the good work!

    -Alisa

  2. Are those Bento something like a frozen food? How do you heat it up then?

    I didn’t know you have to purchase a personal seat separately. Two-hours train ride while standing would be tiring, wouldn’t it?

    • Nope they’re meant to be eaten at room temperature so I think they have a pretty quick expiration date.

      And yes, two hours standing would be very tiring, luckily I’ve never had to do that yet. If you wait long enough usually a spot on the bench seats of normal trains will open up. The personal seat was so worth it though..haha : )

  3. ooo!! i’m glad you went to nikko!!! when i went they had a mini snow festival, just like the one in hokkaido. it was beautiful and very chilly! ;) go you for travelling alone!!!!

Leave a Reply

