Shinjuku and Roppongi (film)

In search of Uniqlo, food, and a movie theater that gives discounts to foreign exchange students…

FH010025

FH010024

We spent quite some time looking for this new Uniqlo. The exterior design was pretty cool but the inside was the same as they all are and the clothes this season are frighteningly reminiscent of 1995. Now I understand why my mom was so disappointed when leg warmers "came back" a few years ago. I mean really, those cacki pants that you can remove sections of to make capris or shorts?

We spent quite some time looking for this new Uniqlo. The exterior design was pretty cool but the inside was the same as they all are and the clothes this season are frighteningly reminiscent of 1995. Now I understand why my mom was so disappointed when leg warmers "came back" a few years ago. I mean really, those pants that you can unzip sections of to make capris or shorts? Long, wide leg jean shorts? Guys might as well start parting their hair down the middle again.

At least these elevator ladies stay looking classy.

At least these elevator ladies stay looking classy.

I love discovering alley ways like this filled with little eating and drinking establishments.

I love discovering alley ways like this filled with little eating and drinking establishments.

We wandered into one randomly and of course couldn't read the menu (no pictures, all kanji) - so we just asked for the "osusume" (recommendation) and ordered that.

We wandered into one randomly and of course couldn't read the menu (no pictures, all kanji) - so we just asked for the "osusume" (recommendation) and ordered that.

FH010019

This street performer was pretty good.

This street performer was pretty good.

FH010029

FH010015

FH010013

This is that same night in Roppongi, after a failed attempt to go see Angels & Demons. It was sold out so we hung out at this lounge then came back to the hills again the next day and saw it.

This is the next day in Roppongi, outside of a petshop that I look at everytime I walk by. Along with hoardes of other women. "Awwwwwwwww"

This is the next day in Roppongi, outside of a petshop that I look at every time I walk by. Along with hordes of other women. "Awwwwwwwww"

FH010002

Its almost too much to handle. Most of the puppies and kittens in here are so young they can hardly walk. They cost between one to three thousand dollars, and according to several signs and pictures, apparently Paris Hilton bought one of them before. Ay ay ay.

Oh yes, I remember now, I was going to tell you about the movies. First of all, exciting news for foreign exchange students (if you’re like me and still haven’t figured this out even after living in Japan for 9 months): The movie theater at Roppongi Hills gives a discount to foreign exchange students who can present their “foreigner card” and their student ID! You get to pay 1,000 yen instead of 1,500. Yay!

But I must warn you, buy your tickets early. We bought our tickets in the morning and the only thing still available was an 8pm showing!

*click images for full view

12 responses to “Shinjuku and Roppongi (film)

  1. Hi Allison,

    My name is Dakota! Probably haven’t seen me on here much on your blog, even though you’re linked on my blog dakotarico.wordpress.com . . .

    But I just, for the first record, wanted to leave a comment to tell you I absolutely adore and respect your photography and can’t not check it every day.

    I fell in love with your photos! I just love the way that you capture life in Japan. You’re an inspiration. You make Tokyo look like a photographic Utopia.

    X

  2. But what did you think of the moovie? I saw the movie in German.. That is rarely followed by a thumbs up good review.

    Nothing wrong with a good old Bull Cut parted down the middle.. haha

    • Haha I thought it was ok. I guess it was definitely an edge of your seat movie but nothing that lingered in my mind for days after.

    • Yes I agree with you on that but have you been in and seen the other stuff lately? Haha maybe I’m too judgmental..

  3. oh my, how did you take that picture in the train?!! weren’t the people staring at you? .. b/c i did hear it’s illegal ….. you brave, brave child

Leave a Reply

