Dressed up for Tanabata (film)

Keio’s SFC Campus had a tanabata festival the other day so we all dressed up in jinbei or yukatas and went. These are just pictures of everyone all dressed up – I’ll post pictures of the festival tomorrow.

Michelle is a pro at putting on yukatas

Haha good thing we have Michelle who actually knows how to put these on. Ben’s got messed up so she fixed it on the train – ha the ladies on the train seemed to get a kick out of that! By the way– notice anything special about her jinbei? Muahahahahaha.

FH000008 FH000006

Apparently Kirk's yukata came complete with arm rest

Apparently Kirk's yukata came complete with arm rest

Kirk, Nozomi and I

Kirk, Nozomi and I

With my Japanese friends that I don't see enough!

With my Japanese friends that I don't see enough!

FH010015

I met Satoko (on the right) through school – I signed up for a conversation partner and it was her. Haha she had only done it because they needed more people and her friend asked her but lucky for me. Her and her friends are so cool and she’s even in a band! Yuichiro (on the left) is also in it and actually he did an exchange at Pacific Lutheran in Washington last year so he’s ペラペラ (fluent) in English – which is nice because Satoko doesn’t really speak it and my Japanese sucks. Haha.

Amy and Yutaro : )

Amy and Yutaro : )

FH010023

For her final project in one of her classes Akina (on the left) was interviewing foreigners about what they think of Japan but we got Nozomi in there too, haha. Akina is extremely bubbly and laughs constantly, its pretty cute.

Akina: So.. What’s your name?

Nozomi: Nozomi.

Akina: And.. where are you from?

Nozomi:…Japan…

Akina: Oh! Haha well.. what is Japan in one word?

Nozomi:…home?

L. getting interviewed.. I wonder what she said..

L. getting interviewed.. I wonder what she said..

Haha. I didn’t get to hear what everyone else said though. What were your words, guys?

Anyway thats all for now. More tomorrow of course : )

*click images for full view

4 responses to “Dressed up for Tanabata (film)

  1. Love this, everyone looks so nice all dressed up!!
    And I love the colors, as usual.
    I really wish I could celebrate tanabata in Japan…that would be amazing!

  2. so lovely! I love yukata…I was given one for my birthday last year and really want to frame it, but it’s SO expensive…guess I could just suck it up and wear it…!

    You all look beautiful!!!<3

Leave a Reply

