Tanabata Cruise & Poll Results…sort of (film)

First of all: another Tanabata event – we dressed up in Yukatas and went on a cruise – basically a booze cruise. It was two hours of all you can drink for only 1,500 yen ($15) – $1000 yen off of the original 2,500 yen deal if you wore a yukata!

We had to get ready in the bathrooms at school in order to make it in time - running across campus and to the train station was mildly embarassing and terribly fun.

We had to get ready in the bathrooms at school in order to make it in time - running across campus and to the train station was mildly embarassing and terribly fun.

"Oh wait I gotta put money on my suica!" "Oh me too" "Oh me too!"

"Oh wait I gotta put money on my suica!" "Oh me too" "Oh me too!"

FH000008

I kind of felt like a doll and I also kind of felt like I was wearing body armor. Yukata are supposed to hide any trace of the female figure so there’s actually a thick towel stuffed under my obi (the waistband) to make me look extra flat. Hahaha.

Nozomi & L. Ploy

Nozomi & L. Ploy

FH000006

Cruise Ship

Michelle & Nozomi --blue!

Michelle & Nozomi --blue!

Dinosaurs on the shore!

Dinosaurs on the shore!

Right after this people started dancing.

Right after this people started dancing.

Drink #2? #3? The bartender took this one of us and I loooove it. Nozomi looks so mischievous!

Drink #2? #3? The bartender took this one of us and I loooove it. Nozomi looks so mischievous!

Ahh that was a good time.

Ok now….the results of my little questionnaire from yesterday. First of all, wow, record number of comments on a post – thanks! I wish you guys would tell me how you felt about the photos like that more often! Its nice to hear your perspectives on the images.

Anyway I’m a bit torn. You overwhelmingly liked numbers 5, 6, and 7 best – the photos I was most leaning towards as well. But I also got several requests to keep the banner as it is. Jacob pointed out that since I’m leaving Japan in less than a month it might be nice to keep up the continuity since many people may associate the blog with that flower image. Good point – I hadn’t thought about that.. haha. MK also suggested rotating these banners using a simple Java tool. Well I can’t figure out how to make that work for this format but I do like the idea of a rotation and its something I wouldn’t mind doing manually. So now – one more question:

1) Keep the banner the same until I leave Japan – I will change it when I return to the states and have  Seattle/Portland based photos.

or

2) Have each of these banners for a few days until I return home.

By the way, I hope I don’t loose you when I leave Japan! I’m going to do my best to continue this blog in similar fashion even though I’ll be in different places. The Pacific NW has its cool parts, and I’ll also be going to New York City for a bit this summer so I imagine that should also result in some good photos. Thanks!

– Allison

*click images for full view

16 responses to “Tanabata Cruise & Poll Results…sort of (film)

  1. i want a yukata!

    you’re coming to nyc? that’s awesome, we should hang out.

  2. The point about continuity was a good one; I say keep the florals until you leave, then start afresh upon arriving home!

    You and your friends look so lovely all dressed up<3

  3. Hi,

    Im Reavel from Puerto Rico and I have to confess have that I totally love your blog and your photos. I would love to go to Japan one day and since I follow via rss your blog I feel like I have been there. Even when you are heading back to your home I thank you so much for taking great pictures of your daily finds and living with the world.

    Wherever you go to keep up the good work and btw you look super kawaii on that yukata.

    • Hi Reavel,
      I’ve looked at your site now and it means a lot to be complimented by someone with so much talent. Thank you for following along with this blog! I’m definitely encouraged to keep it going now : )

  4. Your yukata is really pretty!

    I like the idea of rotating the banner pictures, it’s fresh.

    I’ll definitely stick around..I look forward to seeing your PNW photos since I’ll be relocating there in the near future.

  5. i, most important blog reader, choose number 1. and i’m kind of really excited to see more stuff of the Northwest as i’ve always wanted to visit friends up there. ny is cool too. and so if san francisco!

    • get outta here, jacob!
      Btw i think San Fran should be a stop on your list, Allison!

  6. i look forward to the new york pics. you always seem to find really cool stuff to shoot in the city streets…

  7. i am kinda late but i really like number 6 lol. and i think that you should keep the current banner until you move back to the states.
    i’ll definitely be sticking around because i recently have decided to make photography my career and looking at your pictures gives me a lot of inspiration :)

  8. Pingback: Pictures I don’t remember taking (film) « 24:00·

  9. I’m a New Yorker, so if you need ideas of where to explore, I’d be happy to share!

Leave a Reply

