Seven Eleven Japan (film)

I’ve been bragging to people back home for some time now about the wonders of Japanese convenience stores so its about time I do a post already. I think because convenience stores in The States are almost always connected to gas stations they have a fairly gritty image – but in Japan they always stand alone. Open 24 hours (generally), squeaky clean, filled daily with fresh meals, any kind of alcohol you want, and a constant rotatation of new seasonal foods, toys, prizes and the like, Seven Eleven (7-eleven in the U.S.) in Japan seriously is convenient. I can’t even tell you how many times my friends and I have forgone eating out to just get a cheap meal from here.

FH000012

This one is in Kichijoji.

Notice the four different bins outside on the left – cans, pet bottles (plastic bottles), burnable trash, unburnable trash – Japan has some pretty serious recycling laws – read this if you’re interested.

Nozomi turned bright red when I took this. : P

Nozomi turned bright red when I took this. I think its pretty interesting that half of them are anime.

Ok, I’m just being funny by only taking a picture of these magazines, but when you enter there is usually a whole wall of magazines. Seven Eleven is kind of stingy about this and often seals their magazines (esp. these kind – adults only!), but in most convenience stores you can come in, read and entire fashion magazine, for example, and walk out without buying it.

FH000010

The frozen dessert case is my new favorite section because of this unbearable heat (maybe its just the humidity that bothers me). My favorite is the one on the bottom middle (白くま)- its full of fruit and azuki beans. Others include a waffle filled with vanilla ice cream and chocolate, orange, grape, soda, royal milk tea, and cherry popsicles.

FH000009

Make-up, panty-hose, dental care products, sunscreen, and the like. I heard recently that a few 7-elevens in Japan are going to become pharmacies as well -so long mom & pop drug stores!

FH000008

The great thing about Japan (esp. for those exhausted salarymen) is that you can drink in public. Grab a beer at the conbini and drink it while you’re waiting for that packed train home. On the left side of this case are all the beers – almost all Asahi brand, and on the right are “Chu High” – these are kind of like canned cocktails – shochu and soda in various flavors.

FH000007

You can buy just about any variety of alcohol here. Below this shelf they also have liter and 2 liter sized cartons of sake and sho chu for $10-20. If you’re curious about the prices in this photo, just move the decimal two points to the left to get an idea of the dollar amount – the exchange rate is 100yen to $1.06 right now.

FH000006

This is what I’ll miss. On the left, bentos of everything you can imagine – pasta, omuraisu (omelette rice), chicken katsu, various donburi, typical style bento with rice, fish, vegetables, all kinds of noodles – soba, ramen, somen (hot or cold), salads, side salads. On the right – onigiri heaven. Rice balls (maybe they should be called rice triangles?) with fillings like salmon, tuna, seaweed, curry, korean style bulgogi, sour plum, all wrapped in seaweed, or made of fried rice, or wrapped in egg and spam, or mixed with furikake (seaweed/salt seasoning) – basically anything you can think of. I think I could live off of these. I can’t explain how incredibly enjoyable they are.

FH000005

No crust on these sandwiches. Flavors above are, from left to right: Ham & Cucumber salad (I think), Ham Katsu (katsu= breaded and fried), Chicken Katsu, Looks like fried egg, ham, and lettuce, Tuna and Egg (half and half), and Lettuce (its called “Lettuce” but it obviously has other stuff too).

FH000004

Notice: the pokemon stuffed animals and action figures for sale, the microwaves they will heat up your bento or noodles in, the hot water machines for heating your cup noodles or tea, and the awesome uniforms.

What do you think of the tour? Thoughts? Questions? Disagree with me on anything? For a related post – check on Ben’s guest post about working at Family Mart from a few months ago.

*click images for full view

14 responses to “Seven Eleven Japan (film)

  1. I’ve been to one 7/11 here in Beijing, and it was also much nicer than in the states. The doors were swinging glass, and they had all of these baked goods and fresh juices to pick from. Also, not at all attached to a gas station. :-)

  2. OMG I tell everyone about the convenience stores in Japan, too. They really are great. I usually get all my magazines there:0) This one is huge!

  3. oh I miss this too. Although I have never been to japan before, the ones we have in Taiwan are basically the same.
    these convenient stores are like “heaven” in the summer.

  4. 1) Don’t say mom & pop drug stores will dissapear!! In my tiny little town (pop. 20,000) in Tohoku, my host family ran a pharmacy/drug store. It took up the front section of our house and it was super busy. So cute! (:

    2) I love Chu Hi. And I really miss conbini’s!!!

  5. Yay! I’m so happy you did a feature on the 7-elevens! I meant to but ran out of time. Great photos

  6. Cool post! Our 7elevens in Denmark aren’t too shabby, either, except they are just way too expensive.
    I really miss being able to buy onigiri when I’m out! They are so convenient and tasty, too. Sigh.

  7. Before you leave Japan, I really think you need go to mini stop and have their espresso popsicle called 達人の珈琲アイス. They are very serious about their own brand of ice cream/soft serve ice cream.

  8. I love the convenience stores in Japan, so this was such a fun post to see. o(^__^)o I too, ate many a quickie meal from the Lawson/7-Eleven/etc. I particularly miss the onigiri and selection of bottled drinks…

  9. Pingback: Convenience « 24:00·

Leave a Reply

