LAST POST IN JAPAN (film)

Yep, seriously. So its gonna be a long one ok? These are from my last three days in Japan, including today!

Goodbye my dearest new friend, NOZOMI! I miss you already! <3

Goodbye my dearest new friend, NOZOMI! I miss you already! <3

Goodbye Takeshita-street!

Goodbye Takeshita-street!

Goodbye girls <3

Goodbye girls <3 Thank you for the mame-shiba slippers!!!

Goodbye Satoko!

Goodbye Satoko!

Goodbye Kana! I love the mix cd, thank you <3

Goodbye Kana! I love the mix cd, thank you <3

Goodbye うっぴ!

Goodbye うっぴ!

Goodbye Kazue!!

Goodbye Kazue!!

(look at the creativity of this cafe - its a newspaper!)

(look at the creativity of this cafe - its a newspaper!)

まだ帰りたくないよ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

まだ帰りたくないよ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(I like the koala - daikanyama)

(I like the koala - daikanyama)

FH000014

Ben, Jacob, Nozomi and I went to Kinfolk Bar in Naka-Meguro and drank way too much (particularly me, thanks to my pal Nozomi, haha) and covered each other in fake tattoos.

Goodbye Cafe-Na, my cool new discovery in Harajuku!

Goodbye Cafe-Na, my cool new discovery in Harajuku!

See?

See?

Cool yeah?

Cool yeah?

Today Kohei and Nozomi and I went to Asakusa to eat age-manju and hiyashi-chuuka and kakigori for the last time!

Today Kohei and Nozomi and I went to Asakusa to eat age-manju and hiyashi-chuuka and kakigori for the last time!

Kohei, who I haven't seen in 4 months, suddenly texted me at 7am and said "you are LEAVING tomorrow? can we meet?" so we met up one last time!

Kohei, who I haven't seen in 4 months, suddenly texted me at 7am and said "you are LEAVING tomorrow? can we meet?" so we met up one last time!

Nozomi was shy like Kohei was when he was in Seattle. : )

Nozomi was shy like Kohei was when he was in Seattle. : )

Look how much taller than her he is! She is even wearing heels!!

Look how much taller than her he is! She is even wearing heels!!

Goodbye Tamachi Station and my long, annoying journey to school!

Goodbye Tamachi Station and my long, annoying journey to school!

Goodbye tiny bedroom!! I'm going to miss the view of other rooftops and electrical wires!

Goodbye tiny bedroom!! I'm going to miss the view of other rooftops and electrical wires!

Goodbye again Nozomi, and the wall I like to take portraits in front of!

Goodbye again Nozomi, and the wall I like to take portraits in front of!

Always matching : ) <3

Always matching : ) <3

Goodbye bridge I love to walk over!

Goodbye bridge I love to walk over!

Goodbye Japan. I’m not going to say much, don’t want to bring those tears out yet (I’ll leave that for an embarrassing airport departure). Its been an incredibly year. I can’t wait to come back again.

Thank you everyone for following this blog throughout the year… <3 Next post from PORTLAND! See you then!

Photo 2 <3

*click images for full view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

17 responses to “LAST POST IN JAPAN (film)

  1. Tears are already flowing for you…

    XOXOXOXO

    PS: Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Cool! You got to see Kohei again!!! ahaha, what a funny guy :D
    Love the portraits!!!
    Have a safe flight back!

    and see you SOOOON!!!!

  3. When your mother and I agreed to your going to Japan for a year, we new it would be a wonderful experience. This blog is a treasure that has allowed all of us to go with you. Thanks for letting all of us enjoy your year in Japan. Your last picture made me tear up( and I’m at work).

    See you tomorrow!

  4. Have a safe flight! Though Japan is amazing, I’m still really looking forward to photos of the Pacific Northwest with your awesome perspective!

    When I’m in Japan in October, I’ll be able to point at so many things and say your awesome blog showed them to me first! :D

    -hattie (now with wordpress account!)

  5. I only just discovered your blog a few weeks ago and now I wish I had come across it earlier and could’ve followed your throughout your incredible year in Japan. I’m going to miss you posts and especially your beauitful photography from the streets of Japan.
    I wish you all the best and a safe trip home. I’m sure you’re also a bit happy to go back to your friends and family after being away for so long. But judging from what I’ve seen and read on here you’ve met some pretty aweseome people in Japan too.

    Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful time with us!

  6. im glad your blog is gonna go on. cuz what would i do with out this thing!

    i really had a wonderful year thanks to you ms.allison oconnor!

    i hope you enjoyed most of it as much as you could!

    i hope you know, no matter you like it or not ima force you to keep in touch with me and to travel with me soon! and for eveR! haha

    luv ya and hope you have a safe trip home! tell your parents hellO! and i miss u all soo much alreaDY!

  7. i cant believe ive been following this for that long already. your photos are always amazing! cant wait to see what you come out with next.

  8. ついに今日だね!
    空を見てるよ、飛行機が飛ぶのを見てます。
    手紙、おくるからね!

  9. Oh my gosh, I seriously started crying!
    Haha, I’m really lame…
    But I know how you’re feeling.
    Now I’m crying because I’m remembering my time in Japan >.<
    かなしいね!!!

    I hope you have a wonderful trip home, and I'm excited that you'll keep blogging (:

  10. i can imagine how difficult it must be to say goodbye to all your friends in japan…it has been so interesting to read about what you have experienced and get a glimpse of life in japan through your photos! have a safe journey home.

  11. 楽しい時間をありがとう!
    またシアトルで会おうね!
    ストーカーはやめてね♥アリソンちゃん♥
       

  12. you’re so adorable! this post made me sad, too:0( goodbyes are so hard.

    I hope you have a safe journey home, and can’t wait to see what you unearth back home in Portland!

  13. I hate leaving!!! But man, Allison your blog is so awesome and I even got my sister to read it everyday too now!!! I had fun being a part of your blog and hope you can make your cafe soon too!!

  14. I have to agree with the sentiment that your photos made it seem like I was there. I read a lot of foreigner in japan blogs and this was by far my favorite and best i’ve come acrossed. Definitely it was your photos, but i would say it was how much fun you seemed to have there. And take it from a guy from ny… how when he visited shimokitizawa, went looking for Hawa donuts and wanted to visit “girly” cafes….haha….not very manly.

Leave a Reply

