Downtown Portland

Went to eat at the trucks downtown with my mom and brother the other day. I had been looking for a bike so we strolled around and checked out a few of the downtown shops.

"The Max"

"The Max"

Portland and Seattle have exactly the same style small newspapers, just with different names and localized content. In Portland you have Willamete Week and the Portland Mercury (which is slightly edgier than WW, I’d say), and the Seattle equivalents are the Seattle Weekly and the Stranger. Is it like this in other American cities?

Beautiful bikes locked up in front of Ace Hotel

Beautiful bikes locked up in front of Ace Hotel

Ace Hotel is fun even if you aren’t staying there because a)it has a photobooth, b) its super-hip (of course), c) great cafe (serving stumptown, of course) and d) it has this great lounge that makes me feel like I’m in a Fitzgerald novel. Its a nice place to people watch.

50620021

This block has like 30 different food trucks and during the lunch hour they get really busy. I discovered a new thing to eat, and that is The Whole Bowl. These women in front of me were talking about how this Whole Bowl place only has one menu item, and its really basic food, just brown rice and black beans with a few toppings, but that they pour a sauce on thats like crack. That seemed like reason enough for me to try it. And oh my…

50620020

That’s it in the middle there – the tiny bowl with cheese and avocado on top. It was just the right amount of food and it was INCREDIBLE. I can’t wait to go back. My mom got tabouli from a Greek food truck and tom yum soup from a Thai food truck, and my brother got fish tacos from a Mexican food truck. Of course we all sampled each other’s meals… quite a few times.

Ben looks a little jetlagged still in this picture : )

Ben looks a little jetlagged still in this picture : )

I love these purple tiles around downtown

I love these purple tiles around downtown

I wonder what they're building. This is right next to Fox Tower 10 - now playing Food Inc. (Go see it!)

I wonder what they're building. This is right next to Fox Tower 10 Theaters- which is now playing Food Inc. (Go see it!)

50620016

Ben took this - my stupid leggings are always uneven like that.

Ben took this - my stupid leggings are always uneven like that.

50620014

Ben and I. Apparently I thought I was holding the camera vertically. I’m a smart one. : P

News: My book has arrived! My brother is bringing it up to Seattle later today. I can’t wait to see…

– also: Nozomi made a flickr account! Check out her amazing artwork! I’m so excited to own some of it.

*click images for full view!

2 responses to “Downtown Portland

  1. im really diggin portland more then seattle!

    may be that will be my next stop!

    my spring break is last week of march!
    ill bring ben!

Leave a Reply

