Stumptown Coffee

Portland’s own! My mom and I went for coffee at what I believe is the original (Correct me if I’m wrong) Stumptown Coffee in Portland – on NE Division.

R1-20

R1-24

Its very good coffee and this location is particularly nice to sit around and people watch in.

R1-23

“No, I look terrible!”

R1-21

No, you look adorable. Doesn’t she?

R1-22

I need a new hairstyle. Suggestions? I’m boring when it comes to my hair. I don’t even die it – purely out of laziness – so its pretty much looked like this for years.

*click images for full view

14 responses to “Stumptown Coffee

  1. For your hair, get a perm! not those curly types but the big waves look. i can imagine that.. i can also imagine a short cut b/c you have a skeeeny face..

      • woah! really? that’s super long! don’t cut that, maybe you must try a bang? that will definitely suit you

  2. Hope I’m not too late but I think you’d look great with a short bob around chin level for that super sophisticated yet fun look :)

    Going to Tokyo in early October, any must do suggestions?

    J

    • Really?? I don’t know if I’m daring enough for that! : P

      How long will you be in tokyo? I recommend the sort of off-the-beaten path areas – guides will take you to temples and shrines and big crowded areas like Shibuya, which are good too, but also be sure to go to Koenji, Shimokitazawa, Kichijouji, Daikanyama, and the back streets of Harajuku (called ura-harajuku). Takeshita street in Harajuku is fun but be sure to explore around it too. You can actually walk from Harajuku to Shibuya and it doing so will probably see a lot of fun stuff you might otherwise miss by taking the 2 minute train ride.

      Oh and definitely get a JR Rail Pass – it seems expensive but it will pay itself off in no time at all.

      • Flying to Tokyo this Thursday, so excited! By the way for the places you suggested I assume that they are located right around their respective JR/subway stations. Is there a general direction one should walk like N.S.E.W.? Tried doing street view with Google maps but it’s quite hard to get oriented.

        J

  3. Give it a try, you’ve got nothing to lose except for some hair – which will grow back! Imagine how awesome/different your pics would look :)

    Thanks for the travel tips – will definitely check those places out. Will be there for only a few days but I’m looking to see something different this time.

    J

    • Hmm for Shimokitazawa, and Daikanyama any direction you go is bound to be good – they are both sort of small. Kichijouji is close to a beautiful park called Inokashira Koen that’s definitely worth a stroll. I’m not sure of the name of the street I liked there but I know that there is a large starbucks and a zara in it – if you can find those that area is pretty cool. There’s a fantastic vegan cafe (if you’re adventuresome enough for that sort of thing!) called Deva Deva thats amaaazing: http://devadevacafe.com/about_us/EnCafe_Map.htm

      Koenji is pretty big so give lots of time and just walk all over – any side will be interesting.

      To get to Ura-Harajuku get off at JR Harajuku and exit out the Omotesando exit then just walk straight down the main street until you see a big GAP store, pass it and turn down the little alley way behind it. This is one way to enter ura-harajuku area.

      Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

