Hawthorne, NE Portland

18A_0380

Hawthorne Ave in NE Portland is one of my favorite streets to walk around. Its colorful and has something of a laid back, creative, and perhaps “hippy” vibe. The picture above is of one of the 5 or so Tibetan goods shops in the area that support the movement to free Tibet. Right next to it is a Global Exchange, on its other side is a vegetarian Thai restaurant (VegeThai – its unbelievably good), across the street are a recycled clothing store and a used instruments store, and down the block are Buffalo Exchange and Red Light Clothing Exchange, numerous little cafes and bars, and, well, you get the idea, right?

16A_0378

“We are all in the gutter but some of us are looking at the stars.” – Oscar Wilde

17A_0379

Almost all of the telephone polls are 2 or 3 inches thick with posters and fliers like this.

14A_0376

Click images for full view!

I have all kinds of good stuff coming up on here. I still have to post all my photos from Vancouver BC and Seattle, and on top of that Paul and I are leaving in a couple of days for New York. We’ll be there for about a week and a half, just for fun. Please start giving me your recommendations now! Write them in the comments or email me if you’re too shy to comment : ) I’ve never been there so I want some good ideas.

4 responses to “Hawthorne, NE Portland

Leave a Reply

