Amy’s Tattoo

Amy came to play for a couple days the last time I was down in Portland.

R1-15

She texted me the day before, “are there any tattoo shops in Portland?” (ha, of course!) and then actually followed through with it when she arrived! We googled “portland tattoo parlors” and decided on Captain Jacks, simply because it’s on Hawthorne Blvd and I wanted to eat at Veggie Thai – which was as delicious as usual.

Is my green curry here yet or what? (Taken by Amy)

Is my green curry here yet or what? (Taken by Amy)

We had to kill a couple hours before they could get her in for her tattoo so after dinner we headed to Cup and Saucer cafe for coffee.

Isn't she cute?

Isn't she cute?

Amy took this. Do you think its only kids who get the candy from these? I never see adults doing it!

Amy took this. Do you think its only kids who get the candy from these? I never see adults doing it!

Now I know why I get compared to Liv Tyler (ugh), I look like an elf! (Amy took this)

Now I know why I get compared to Liv Tyler (ugh), I look like an elf! They must be thinking of her in Lord of the Rings. (Amy took this)

So finally at long last we returned to the tattoo shop, Amy got her little stars sketched up (did you notice them in the pictures from my last post??), and we sat down to get it done. I also have to say, I seriously enjoyed looking at the binders full of images of previous tattoos the artists have done. Some are amazing, some are just hilarious. I can’t say I enjoyed the back of the piercing photo binder so much though if you catch what I’m talking about… ::shudder::

R1-11

It was terribly exciting to watch. She barely even flinched!

R1-10

Haha, I'm terrible but, what do you think of when you see people with bandages on their wrists?

Haha, I'm terrible but, what do you think of when you see people with bandages on their wrists?

Then we went to my very favorite place (7 years and it still hasn’t been surpassed), Pix, for dessert and a drink (a kir royale, of course)..

The waiter took this.

The waiter took this.

What do you guys think of tattoos? Would you ever get one? I like them on other people but I just don’t think I can commit. I’m almost positive that I would either a) want to get rid of it at some point, or b) want to get tons more of them – so I’m just avoiding the ordeal altogether. I’ll be happy to go watch anyone get theirs though… muahahaha.

*click images for full view

13 responses to “Amy’s Tattoo

  1. I am too chicken to get one, I also think that I would be likely to change my mind at some point. Hers are really really cute though!

  2. i love this last photo. looks like you guys are back in the late 60s or something. very cute. what is that you guys are drinking?

  3. Miss,
    Though I just stumbled upon your site, I wish to convey how captivating it is…by the way, I have 31 tattoos with none being below the waist.
    Kindest Wishes

  4. you’re gonna have to explain the piercing photos allison cus i dont get it. Be specific please.

    • BEN! I know you know what I’m talking about. I mean, I was curious about what those gender-specific piercings looked, like, I won’t lie… but…
      They were pretty horrifying.

  5. i have some and try not to think about them too much, or else i would start wondering why the heck i got them in the first place. not that i am regretting them or anything. the only thing i regret is that now that i have them, i cannot bathe with my mom when we go to onsen. she’ll be so disappointed in me if she finds out.

  6. aaah you’re both so cuuuute! I love that flower brooch on your top<3

    stars on the wrist is a very good choice. I can't believe she didn't flinch; my wrists hurt SO BAD!!!

    as far as the candy machines go, my bf is always dropping his quarters on handfulls of skittles and gumballs;0)

Leave a Reply

