f/stop

Yesterday I went to campus with Paul’s brother John and he let me try out all of his different lenses and gave me a little photography lesson. I wish I had written down the details of each shot as I took it but my hands were so cold I didn’t. : P For these three photos I used his EF 50mm standard lens. The first photo was taken at the lowest f/stop the lens offers, which is 1.8, and the following photos were at progressively higher f/stops (4 and 5.6 maybe?). The lowest f/stop is clearly the best option in this case for getting a really clear picture of the subject (which is John!), because it let in a lot of light and blurred out the background a lot, making the subject more prominent.

… I think I explained that right. My apologies if not! : )

I’ve now developed two rolls in the past two days, so I’ll probably alternate between the photos I took with Amy on Friday and the ones I took yesterday with John. Let me know what you think, please!

* taken with kodak ultra max 400 on my canon eos rebel k2

**click images for full view

12 responses to “f/stop

  1. that’s a good explanation. 50mm prime lens’ are usually really good for shallow depth of fields like that. you should get one! i can’t wait to get a lens for my camera.

    i dunno if anyone explained to you why they get subsequently darker but it’s because as the aperture number goes up, more light is needed for a proper exposure, which means either a longer shutter speed, higher iso, or a combo of the both.

    sorry, i just wanted to sound smart for a second.

    • I did know that the lower the number, the greater amount of light gets in. But I didn’t know that having a lower aperture also makes the background more blurry!

      I know I really want to get one! What kind of lens are you planning to get?

    • I’m not sure if I used the next two f-stops though.. I think I may have chosen higher ones. Doesn’t the third picture look a little dark for 2.8? I should have written that down! : P

  2. Since I’m still learning what most of this means, this will give me something to play around with. I just started playing with the different combinations of shutter speeds and ISO. Now I’ll add this into the mix. I’m a fan of the blurry background. I’m sure I sound a complete amateur…which I am.

  3. Oh, you are figuring out the fun stuff.

    The wider the aperture (smaller numbers), the more light it captures. So it’s convenient in the dimly lit conditions, though you’d then need higher ISO as you sacrifice shutter speed as well as depth of field by opening up the aperture.

  4. The f1.8 is great.

    I used to have a camera with that lens but it got stolen in Prague. Mine at the moment only goes down to 2.8, which is really annoying.

Leave a Reply

