The First Thing:

All these photos were taken in Fremont a couple weeks ago. You might recognize that giant troll if you did any teen movie watching just over a decade ago – it made an appearance in 10 Things I Hate About You.

Can you believe that? A decade…! I was just telling my friends the other night that the first thing that comes to mind when I think of the turn of the millennium is that Waiting For Tonight song by Jennifer Lopez. Haha, I can offer you no good explanation for this. What about you? What is the very first thing that comes to mind when you think of 1999-2000? This should make for some interesting comment discussions.. : )

* taken with kodak ultra max 400 on my canon eos rebel k2

**click images for full view

13 responses to “The First Thing:

  1. i just got MAJOR flashbacks hearing that jlo song! :) my gym instructor used to play it every week during our leg lift exercises. what do i remember about that year? this is a hard one.. i only remember partying hard on the dance floor NYE 1999 at the marriot hotel with several friends and feeling really sick the following day. the rest of the year is a blur. :D

    that last picture is surreal! i haven’t seen that movie. this picture has piqued my curiosity.

  2. My recollection would be taking a long time understanding the term “Y2K”, hahahaha. It just didn’t make sense to me till one day it finally hit me! The music video for that JLo song was epic tho, loved her covered in diamonds and that jungle-like scene.

  3. I love that movie! It was the first VHS I ever bought. I used to know it by heart and my sister and I still quote it all the time.

    My favorite quotes:
    Bianca: “There’s a difference between like and love. Because, I like my Skechers, but I love my Prada backpack.”
    Chastity: “But I love my Skechers.”
    Bianca: “That’s because you don’t have a Prada backpack.”
    Chastity: “Oh!”

    Michael: “I’m thinking of getting a Tercel. Yeah, that’s a Toyota.”

    Bogey Lowenstien: [the doorbell rings] “That must be Nigel with the brie”.

    And Heath Ledger is just oh-so-cute!

  4. I wanna GO TO THAT TROLL BRIDGE. When I think of 2000, i think of how all the things i got teased for wearing then are cool now. Most notably my RIDICULOUSLY large glasses and shorts above my knee

    • No kidding, you were ahead of the curve!
      I’m pretty sure I was wearing jean jackets and brown lipstick at that point in my life.

  5. First thing was New Years and the house party when I was going to U. of Oregon. The memories are fuzzy, and not because it was 10 years ago. I do remember a 40oz. of Pabst in my hand. Nothing beats a $1.30 for a forty of Pabst.

  6. i wanna go to that troll bridge too!

    my only stand out memory of the turn of the century is that when i woke up on 1/1/2000 there was a sign on the computer that said
    “do not use.” the y2k scare got to my mom and we had to wait until everything was confirmed “ok” to use.

  7. Pingback: We’re back! « 24:00·

Leave a Reply

