where the ocean meets the sky

photo credit: ben o'connor

I love the way these photos came out. There is something about the beach during winter that really evokes feelings of solitude for me. I left all the empty space intentionally to convey this (obviously I can’t speak for my brother’s photo, but I thought it fit well with the others). On the beach when the clouds are out and its hard to tell where the ocean ends and the sky begins the expansiveness of the world and the smallness of the individual seem so much more apparent.

What do you think of these images?

*click images for full view (they get even bigger if you click a second time)

**taken with kodak ultramax 400 on my canon eos rebel k2

19 responses to “where the ocean meets the sky

  1. I have always wanted to go to the beach during winter.
    I love the first photo – the red umbrella pops and makes me smile.

  2. These red umbrella series of photos are great, very romantic as well as symbolic. The picture of Ben on the steps looks almost like an Escher, the way it appears the water is level with both the bottom and top of the stairs. Happy Presidents day (late), and Mardi Gras too!

  3. Excellent photos. I love the stairs that are underwater. Very eerie.

    Oregon’s coast in winter gives me similar feelings. I actually prefer it in December/January to summer months in a weird way.

  4. If can share something with you:

    “Oregon’s coast is so much better.”

    -Hank Richardson

    Pictures like the second remind me how strange the mainland and its people are.

    • Hahaha I’m sure Hank and I would agree that Hawaii’s beaches are better in almost every regard, but seriously, the Oregon/Washington coast can look really beautiful sometimes! Its just not fun to dip your feet in.

  5. I like the steps into the water too. High tide?

    These photos remind me of a photo by Hiroshi Sugimoto called
    ‘Sea of Japan’ (1987).

    • High tide indeed.
      I looked up the photos by Sugimoto and they’re amazing. They sell for SO much money too! Wow.

  6. These are great photos! I especially love the second one, it could be almost anywhere in the Pacific North West. :)

    I definitely know what you mean about the beach in winter, it seems so much more moody than during the summer months.

  7. Pingback: High Water « 24:00·

Leave a Reply

