Gen Y

Took these photos in Portland last week. Can you believe how many shoes are on those wires?

Douglas Haddow of PBLKS.com has a new cover story in the current issue of Adbusters that’s pretty fascinating. I’m about to graduate with a 4 year degree and no real job prospects other than waitressing and saving up for grad school, so it really strikes a cord. Is this the best we can do?

“Now that so many Western economies are trapped in a deepening recession with no end in sight, Gen Y faces the possibility of becoming a lost generation, plagued by un- and underemployment for the whole of their adult life. We were born into Spielbergian dreams and all-you-can-eat promises of prosperity, but now we’ll be lucky if we can scrape together a scrap of the half-eaten capital pop tart.”

*click images for full view (they get even bigger if you click a second time)

**taken with kodak ultramax 400 on my canon eos rebel k2

16 responses to “Gen Y

  1. I love the shoes. Someone told me once that they mark something.. street races? I don’t remember..

    Yeah, the Gen Y thing is interesting, but a little worrisome. I’m kind of in that position, I graduated last May, had a job for the summer and then a teaching assistant job at my university for a course that ended in December but now I’m looking for a job, and it sucks. I just hope I get into grad school!

  2. UUUUGGGGHHHHH, you have no idea how much I agree and relate to this article! If it wasn’t 11:33pm and the people upstairs weren’t assholes, I’d be screaming, “FUCK YA!”

    Recently, I’ve had some thoughts about this because I’ve talked to some of the volunteers at my internship, elderly baby boomers, and they all say how they’ve left nothing for their future. Like when they were younger, during the 60’s and stuff, they thought that they were doing good for future generation. And they were, but as they got older. . .

    You know what? I’ll just repost this and blog about it.

    About the 3rd picture, I want you guys to take that exact same picture, at that exact same place, wearing the exact same clothes except 50 years from now.

  3. Also I’ve never understood the significance of shoes on wires. do you know the reason? I’ve heard it means you can buy crack there.

  4. sweet article! ““Barbarian Generation,” because that’s what we are: the greatest threat yet to capitalist civilization.” awwwshet.

  5. the first photo caught my eye. those kids must’ve worked really hard to fling those shoes up there!

    mr. haddow’s realism is so depressing.

  6. I thought the article was really interesting, and I especially liked this part: “The greatest generation, which weathered the depression and defeated fascism, is considered exceptional because it was willing to sacrifice itself for the benefit of future generations. By this standard, the boomers are the worst generation because they have sacrificed the economies and environs of the future for their own comfort and security.”

    I think the article’s weakness is that it assumes that the entire baby boomer generation held alternative, liberal beliefs. In reality, the 1960s saw the emergence of a diversity in the ideologies held by a genegeration; both conservative and liberal. Later in the 20th century, most of the people that emerged as powerful weren’t hippies that gave up their liberal beliefs, they were conservatives that were never liberal.

    While it is true that a lot of the worlds problems today are the result of decisions made by baby boomers, we shouldn’t hold the entire generation accountable for it. While we may be worse off in some respects, we should also thank the babyboomers for the social progress in terms of gender, race, and sexual preference.

    • That’s a really good point. I think the other weakness of that excerpt you quoted is where he says “the greatest generation.” It comes off as if this generation that won world war two was perfect, when it absolutely wasn’t. It always sounds silly when people wholeheartedly glorify certain times in the past, and I think that was pretty weak writing.

      • You might have to blame Tom Brokaw for the ‘Greatest Generation’ tag: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greatest_Generation.

        But I agree with your point: we shouldn’t glorify any generation, especially one which won WWII, but continued to perpetuate moral injustices after the war finished. I think we’ve all had discussions with our grandparents and not seen eye to eye with them.

Leave a Reply

