Elephant Ears

We went to the Saturday Market and Ben, Jacob, and Alan had their first ever elephant ear. I can’t believe they didn’t know what it was. Isn’t that second picture of Ben & Jacob funny?

By the way, we’re back in Seattle, so keep those recommendations coming!

*click images for full view//taken with kodak 400 on my canon eos rebel k2

25 responses to “Elephant Ears

  1. since ben and alan both seem to be looking at michelle, I can’t help but think that the lady in the glasses, dead center in the shot, seems to be stealing a glance as well.

  2. I think the Canadian equivalent is a “beaver tail” haha.. I’ve never had one though.. but that third picture is making me hungry!

    • You should try and find it when you visit! But its really only something they have at festivals and street fairs..

    • Its just deep fried dough doused in cinnamon-sugar. I haven’t changed lenses yet, but I’ve been using mine at 50mm more often to see how I would like a 50mm lens and this might have been one of the photos where I tried that.

      • ah yeah I thought it looked 50mm. You wont regret getting a 50mm prime lens! really fast f.stop and perfect for people photos. and they are so cheap to! my 50mm for a DSLR was only $180NZD so should be a lot cheaper in USD :D

  3. Omg, don’t believe Jacob. I’ve described to him what the hell an elephant ear is on several occasions. He always just writes me off as describing a pancake.

    I wish I could have been there. Saturday Market was the highlight of my weekend when I was little.

    Really outstanding photos. 10/10. I’m glad you captured Portland while it begins to shed its winter isolation blues.

  4. Hi Allison!
    Love your blog and photos and everything related to graphic beauty. I have to admit that I didn’t know anything about elephant ears until now (but I’m french! Is it a good excuse or what?!)

    • Hi Ann : ) Being French is a very good excuse indeed. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, I hope you keep reading!

  5. Pingback: A change of scenery « 24:00·

Leave a Reply

