Scoot About Seattle… or Don’t (a review)

Paul and I rented scooters from Scoot About here in Seattle the other day ($75/day). He forgot to bring his sunglasses so for the first part of the day he had to rent these goofy glasses. : P

You know, I just realized that I didn’t take any pictures of the actual scooters! Oops…

So here’s the deal. I’m not going to pretend like we didn’t have fun most of the day on this thing. If you’ve ever thought about renting scooters though I wouldn’t recommend going through Scoot About unless you feel comfortable riding on the road with cars that really aren’t conscious of two-wheels and you have plenty of money to pay for your mistakes.

I was trying to turn at the bottom of a hill (Eastlake) and the car behind me was driving realllly close behind me to get me to go faster. I got nervous and tried to move to the right so he could pass (which he did very quickly), brushed up against the curb and lost control. Luckily I landed on grass so I’m just sore with a few scratches and bruises.

What gets me (and the reason why I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone) is that, although the scooter was just scratched in a few places, they charged me the full replacement price plus the cost of labor ($75/hour) for the scratched parts. While checking out the damage though, the owner told me I was “lucky” because one part that I apparently scratched still had scratches from the last person who rode it, and they had already charged that person the full replacement price. You follow? She basically told me that they charge the full replacement price for the parts but then don’t actually replace them. They collect the money for the damages you agree to be responsible for in your contract, but its not clear that they actually use that money for repairs. My guess is that they collect the damages but continue renting out the scooter until it needs to be replaced altogether. If they were really concerned about the appearance of some scratches they wouldn’t have rented my scooter out to me in the first place (it definitely wasn’t brand-sparkling-new when I rented it – as I said it already had several scratches). I paid the $280 some dollars and left in tears.

The people were nice and it was fun, but if you’re a novice like me (it was my first time on a scooter) and don’t have hundreds of dollars to spare, I’d think twice.

*click image for full view//taken with kodak 200 on my canon eos rebel k2

22 responses to “Scoot About Seattle… or Don’t (a review)

  1. I’m sorry your experience wasn’t so great. That’s a terrible way to run a business, what’s the point of charging labor fee if they aren’t going to fix anything?
    I once had an accident like yours, I was on a bike trying to miss a person who jumped out. I scraped my knee so badly that I had to wear bandage for a month.
    Btw, are you wearing nail polish from American Apparel? I have the same color!

    • That sounds awful! I’m lucky I didn’t get hurt like that. This polish isn’t from AA but I think I know which one you’re talking about – I love their colors.

  2. Boy, that is pretty sucky!!
    I know how riding a bike could be fun but that 280bucks thing ruins everything :(

    I would be too scared to drive in Seattle anyways :P Oh, and have I told you I don’t even have a license? I should be scared, right?

    People in Seattle don’t seem to like bikers (bicycle) or motorcycles.
    Hopefully that will change in the future.

    • I hope so too because I’d like to get a scooter eventually : ) If you ever come back to Seattle I’ll take you around since you don’t have a license!

  3. Wow, that is super lame of them, but at least you got some sweet pictures out of it! I love the first one of one of you guys in your gear. I would love to rent scooters around here but will take your advice and stay away from this place.

  4. I am so sorry that happened to you. That is so awful. You’re a trooper though and that driver behind you is an a-hole. I’m glad you didn’t get too banged up. But those scooters look like so much fun… and scary. Well, your cat eye sunglasses are great! Hope your scratches heal fast!

  5. Fuck that! They suck, that impatient driver and shady scooter dudes. Good thing you didn’t get too hurt.

    I can totally see you as a commuting vespa girl though. I dunno why.

  6. Dude, that’s really not cool. And it’s good that you come out and say it! I think a lot of companies keep doing really unfair things like that just because they aren’t “exposed” or talked badly about, because people think it’s their own fault.
    Also your sunglasses are ace!

    • Thanks Young. Yeah, I don’t mean to trash talk them or anything at all, I just want people to really think about what they’re risking!

  7. I’m sooooo glad you didn’t get hurt badly!!!!
    I’m sorry you got charged so much though… :( especially when you can tell that they don’t even fix them! boo.
    You and Paul look super cute though! :)

  8. Oh wow that really sucks that they charged you all that money! But I’m glad you came out of it ok and weren’t hurt worse.

  9. Ugh, I can’t believe people sometimes! That really sucks that you got ripped off.. I can imagine how frustrating that must have been. Thankfully you weren’t hurt badly though. North American drivers generally don’t really know how to deal with scooters and bikes well.. :(

    • Its so true. That’s the real bummer. I want a scooter but the most nerve-wracking part is just the drivers who don’t seem to be conscious of bikes.

      • Yeah. Being in Europe [especially cities like Rome and Paris] really made me want to get a scooter too, they coexist so peacefully there haha! Except maybe in Rome.. it’s almost like the scooters have the right-of-way.. they’re always honking at cars and cutting them off haha

  10. Grrr, I don’t like what they did to you in the least! You do look grand and happy in your sunglasses though… perhaps there will be another place to go in the future that uses common sense and fairness.

  11. Can’t believe she had the cheek to tell you that! It stinks when you had a great day and when it’s time to end the day, you get slapped with having to pay a fee you didn’t expect. I would have been pissed as hell! $280 is so much money :(

    Well, I hope this doesn’t deter you from trying new and fun things in the future but next time, check what the damage rates are like before plunging? Hugs.

Leave a Reply

