Infinity Scarf

I’d been wanting a big infinity scarf for a while but just couldn’t bring myself to buy one. I’m one of those people that sees knit things for sale for $20 or $30, scoffs and says “I could easily make that and for way less money!”

Well, I certainly did make it but not for less money…This thing took me a good 8 hours to make and cost around $50. The basic problem for me is that, after working in my aunt’s yarn shop as a teenager, I can’t just walk into a big craft store and buy some cheap acrylic yarn. I have to buy it from a local mom & pop shop and get the 100% natural baby alpaca yarn from a local farm (like this one) or the organic merino wool or, well, you get the gist.

I sound so much like a Seattleite I’m rolling my eyes at myself. I suppose there are worse ways to spend your money though…and I do like the way the scarf came out… :)

*click images for full view//kodak 400//canon eos rebel + 50mm lens//photos by Paul

15 responses to “Infinity Scarf

  1. i’m dreaming of an infinity scarf for the winter.
    i’ll have to buy one, i’m not knitting enough..
    (uh doesn’t it mean something.. terrible english..!!)

  2. It looks great and very well-made. I love the color too!
    I understand your concerns about the kind of yarn you buy, because my mother is more or less the same :) I still have to learn how to knit, maybe soon…

  3. You could look at it this way – your alpaca scarf is probably way warmer than $20-30 ones, and you’re helping out the local farm! And if someone asks, “where did you get your scarf?” you can proudly say “I made it myself”!

  4. i think it’s worth every penny. hey, you made it yourself from the best material possible — now, that’s priceless.

  5. you did such a great job and it’s not that expensive, I’m sure is pretty comfortable and soft!

Leave a Reply

