Chinatown ID + JamFest

Letter Cloud, an art installation by Erin Shie Palmer

Letter Cloud, an art installation by Erin Shie Palmer

Dear friends,

Get thee to the International district! It’s so much more than you think it is – so much more than just Uwajimaya & dim sum (not that I don’t LOVE both of those things). Every time I go there I discover something new – a quirky gallery, a very old and very delicious restaurant, a charming shop, a one-of-a-kind museum…should I keep going?

I had the privilege of appearing in a video my friends at Class Project just made for JamFest, an annual music and culture festival that will be happening every 3rd Saturday in the I.D. this summer (the first one is this Saturday the 21st!), that demonstrates just that: there’s a lot goin’ on here! See for yourself:

Pretty cool huh?! As for the pictures above – they’re just from around the neighborhood. About half of them are from inside the Wing Luke Museum (the one I referred to as one-of-a-kind above). It’s the only Museum of Asian American history in the entire U.S. and it’s full of a lot of really cool local art too.

Add it to your lists, Seattlites, I’m tellin’ ya.

*click images for full view//kodak 400 (?)//canon eos rebel k2

6 responses to “Chinatown ID + JamFest

  1. I’m definitely going to make sure I spend more time in the International District next time I’m in Seattle [hopefully this summer!]. That letter cloud installation looks really amazing [photo 5!!]

  2. the part where the guys were moving on their knees, haha, love that part, it’s so funny! and of cos, the cat wagging its tail, my hand actually went up and started waving along… my hand is weird o.O

Leave a Reply

