Autumn in B.C.

These are the rest of the photos I took on my trip up to Vancouver, Canada. Isn’t fall just the most beautiful season?

I had a moment during a recent train ride, when dusk was just setting in and the colors of the trees, grass, and sky were so oddly saturated and beautiful that I completely lost my train of thought and just had to stare out the window until dark set in. I remember learning a while ago that in Japanese there’s actually a word for moments like this: yuugen (幽玄). Correct me if I’m using it wrong, but from what I’ve found it’s an idea that describes the sudden moments when you have this profound, mysterious sense of the beauty of life. I think I’ve always been able to experience them, but having an actual word in my mind to recognize them with seems to make me that much more conscious of the beauty around me. It’s funny how language works that way, isn’t it?

Do you know the feeling I’m talking about?

*click images for full view//kodak 200//canon eos rebel k2

16 responses to “Autumn in B.C.

  1. Thanks for sharing these beautiful photographs! You certainly have an eye for capturing the incredible moments most would never notice. I especially enjoyed the leaves littering the street and graffiti decorating the buildings/dumpsters. Great post – magnificent photos!

    • Thank you so much, I really appreciate that! I clicked on your link and just saw your paintings too – they’re beautiful :)

  2. I totally know that feeling too, but could never really describe it as well as you have. It’s cool that there’s a word for it in Japanese! Languages are interesting that way.. sometimes there’s just one word that can describe a whole complex feeling or notion which would otherwise take a while to explain.

    Lovely photos as usual!

  3. I totally understand that, and I think we all should have a moment like that every now and then. Too bad I’m too swamped in work right now!
    Great photos as always!

  4. I’m going back to Vancouver in 9 days, these pictures getting me excited to return home! Thanks for the share.

    • I’m glad you liked them! I imagine it’s been nice to get out of the rainy pacific nw for a while though ;)

  5. Allison,

    Wonderful, beautiful pictures. Nick may have told you that he passed along your knowledge of “yuugen” to me during our trip, and it was, as you said, somehow even more meaningful to have a word to describe those many moments of life’s beauty and joy that I experienced.

    Terri

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Terri. It really made my day! Nick did mention that you appreciated the word and I’m so glad to hear it. I’ve been thinking about what you said the other day about bringing more beauty into your surroundings – I think you were talking about your new candlesticks – and how much I like that idea too. I hung some Christmas lights in my apartment for fun a few weeks ago and they still make me feel cozy and content every time I turn them on!

  6. Time seemed to move a lot slower when it happened to me! And I wanted to sit where I was forever. I love that I came here and you managed to give me some warmth through your words and my memories, things have been tipping towards the low point for me so this is nice!

  7. I’m very fascinated by learning about the word yuugen. What a perfect way to express these moments you described. Autumn is the best for sure.

  8. The photos are so beautiful! I really wish we had fall here. :(
    Yuugen seems like such a lovely word. I have moment like that sometimes, I think. Thank you for sharing! :)

Leave a Reply

