Lost in Tokyo

I love getting lost in Tokyo.

I can think of many things worse than losing my way in a place where turning a corner leads me to a building decorated with giant plastic blow-fishes, or construction site barriers home to beautiful urban gardening projects.

Guidebooks and review sites stress me out (too much information! too many enticing places I’ll never have time to visit!), so I usually just pick a neighborhood and start exploring on my own. In a city as dense as Tokyo, the odds are pretty good that if you walk long enough, you’ll find a train station to get back home, and there will certainly be plenty of conbinis along the way to keep you hydrated.

Here are some of my recommendations for good places to get lost: Shimokitazawa, Koenji, Shibuya, Daikanyama, Kichijoji and Harajuku. What are yours?

 

 

*click images for full view//kodak 200//canon eos rebel k2

6 responses to “Lost in Tokyo

  1. Tokyo is the best place to wander around randomly! It’s like, wherever you decide to go, there’ll be something interesting to see.

    I love Shibuya and Harajuku too. Other favorites were Ueno and Asakusa, Tsukiji (for the market and the little shops and the amazing sushi), and Ikebukuro (here I know I’m biased because it’s were my ryokan was and I loved the neighborhood).

  2. Your photos make me want to wander around Bangkok with my camera. Maybe in winter, it’s way too hot right now!
    I do like your strategy, too. It’s a great way to explore an area, although I haven’t been able to do that when I’m with another person.

  3. This is an awesome travel plan! Of course, we did that once in Bangkok in the evening & we ended up getting lost at night, it was so dark & lonely. -.-
    Tokyo has been on my travel list since forever. I am just a little scared because I know it’s very expensive.

  4. JUst stumbled on your blog while looking up urban photography. Something about Tokyo at night, looks like a kaleidoscope of bright popsicle colours! I like the shot of the building side and the puffer fish, gives me ideas for some concept art.
    If you go there again check out Akibahara, if you like sensory overloads ;)

Leave a Reply

