Nagoya Castle

Nagoya Castle is a great place to admire the sakura during cherry blossom season. This trip was my first time visiting and I didn’t get the timing quite right, as most of the trees were just beginning to bloom, but it was still pretty lovely.

The castle was originally built in the early 1600s under the leadership of Iyeyasu Tokugawa, but was almost entirely destroyed by American bombs in World War Two; what’s there now is actually a reconstruction. It was rebuilt in 1959 as part of a post-war rehabilitation effort, but according to the official website, “hopes for the reconstruction of the Hommaru Palace are yet to be realized,” and the castle grounds in their entirety are still a work in progress.

I highly recommend visiting if you can. The paintings on the walls and sliding doors that were saved from the original castle are truly remarkable. Here’s one of the photos I snapped with my iPhone:

Have you ever visited Nagoya? What else did you do there?

*click images for full view//kodak 200//canon eos rebel k2

12 responses to “Nagoya Castle

  1. i used to watch a lot of a manga cartoon called “urusei yatsura” and one of the recurring themes was cherry blossom season. if memory serves me well, this very castle was in one of the episodes. i will go to japan one day and nagoya castle will definitely a stop.

    as always, gorgeous shots!

    • Thanks, Katrina! If you do go, spend a little time researching what else there is to do in Nagoya. I actually got a little bored after I left the castle ;) Not much to see in the immediate vicinity of it but malls and towers.

  2. The sakura trees are soo pretty, so is the exterior of the castle. Japanese art too is so beautiful, I’m not too familiar with it but the Great Wave off Kanangwa is a personal favorite.

  3. These photos are so lovely. I’ve been catching up on your posts… and the Japan ones are my favourite.

    I’m really hoping to visit Japan during cherry blossom season this year.

    • Thank you, Mina! Gosh, I would LOVE to see your photos of the cherry blossoms. You guys do such a nice job of capturing a place while you travel. I hope you get to go next year too!

Leave a Reply

