A Weekend in Whidbey Island, WA

Having lived in Washington State my whole life, I’m a bit embarrassed about how infrequently I get out of my neighborhood and take advantage of all the natural beauty in this region. It’s not that I haven’t wanted to, but getting out of the city is difficult when you don’t have a car!

Nick and I got to go to Whidbey Island for the first time a couple of months ago when a few friends were heading there to do a half marathon. We tagged along for a wonderful weekend of cooking, hanging out at the beach, cheering them on during their race, and running through some of the most wondrous landscapes I’ve ever seen. Since then we’ve also been to Bainbridge Island (though I forgot my camera), and we’re hoping to try and hike in the Olympic National Park or visit the San Juan Islands next. Any recommendations?

 

*click images for full view//kodak 200//canon eos rebel k2

**I still have many more photos from Japan, but wanted to take a break for a bit and share something more recent.

3 responses to “A Weekend in Whidbey Island, WA

  1. I live in Washington as well and before I moved out here I was told that Whidbey Island is a wonderful place to visit if you get the chance it is good to see people that live here do visit, this reassures me that is is not just some touristy area but it just might be a really nice place to see. it is always reassuring when you see the locals there :)

  2. I love Whidbey Island! I grew up spending summers in this area and it’s one of my favourite places. If you haven’t been I’d recommend stopping by Deception Pass, there are some great beaches around there too. Also Port Townsend is a nice place to visit, the old fort there is a really cool place to explore too.

  3. Yay to getting out and exploring the hood :) It’s beautiful! Do them both – Olympic Park and San Juan – altho I have to say San Juan islands sounds very beautiful. I hope you find the time soon!

Leave a Reply

